You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TIL TIL stats - TIL about the TIL success on Steemit

in #til8 years ago

I am giving you a second reply. I used to write far more lengthy replies to quite a number of posts. You could get up voted and rewarded quite well for taking the time to engage in a good discussion. That has declined substantially so if financial motivation is any type of factor for a person (subjective to each person) then they may not see devoting that amount of time as beneficial as it once was.

The other factor of course is the nesting limit on replies. I've been in many discussions where we hit that limit and have to either start replying in other places which puts it kind of out of context, or make a blog post that is a reply to a comment. That can be a bit limiting to deep back and forth debate unless you manage to say everything you want to say within a limited number of exchanges.

Sort:  

Thanks for your second answer which I fully agree with!

The nesting is indeed not visually great, in particular when you reach the limit and you end up with a very small column of text. Maybe will this improve in the future (I am not sure that this has ever been reported).

Concerning the discussions, I noticed too that the situation changed drastically in about a month or two. It is however important to distinguish comments and discussions. Something I must admit I haven't made with my stats.

I reported about the reply limit issue the first month I used Steemit (July) as you have no doubt noticed I can be pretty verbose. I hit that limit pretty quickly a number of times. I was even engaged in some big debates that myself and others spread across blog posts which we used to respond to each other rather than trying to do it using comment and replies.

Hopefully this will be fixed... one day.

Probably reducing the indent could be something simple to implement, and that will already help to keep the text width large enough (improving the readability) and possibly allowing for one or two extra layers of nesting.

From what I read it is more related to how rewards are calculated. They have a fixed limit so it does not have to recurse too far to determine how to distribute rewards. At least that is what I was told. I was of the opinion that they could allow further posts and only reward to a certain depth if they wanted. At least then we could still have unrestricted conversations. That tabs could definitely become a problem as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49