Thanks to @papa-pepper I get to tag in TIL! -How I've learned respect for the art of photo-editingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #til8 years ago (edited)

Yesterday was the first time I have ever, in my life, edited a photo. Two or three days ago I was in need of some photo-editing and I turned to my man, as I have in the past when I've needed to. After all, why do something when you can have someone do it for you, right? 

And then I saw the art contest that Papa-Pepper is hosting and after scrolling through a few of them I thought, How hard could it be? I might have forgotten the thought, my thoughts can be quite fleeting as I have a tendency to get distracted, but then Papa suggested I try a Meme. Well now I felt a bit committed. So I went online and found Pixlr. Thanks to steemit I am already proficient at uploading photos, so that part was easy. But easy ended there. After much @#$! I finally figured out how to place the text, change the color, etc. and made my first meme, hooray! 

After this I was feeling somewhat cocky, now that I new how to place text and change color I was a pro and made some memes for my friends and family. 

I decided to put in my entry and went back to Papa's page and clicked on the wrong art contest. Rather than immediately exiting I found myself scrolling through the winning entries thinking, Hm, this looks fun. How hard could it be? I mean, initially I might @#$!, but now that I could Meme, surely I could do anything.

Well I am here to tell you that editing photos is WORK. After a full hour of attempting to draw on a picture and make it look like I envisioned in my head,

(Guy Fawkes, yup that's what I was going for)

 I gave that up and tried something else. Overlaying one image onto another. Quickly I realized that the only way it would look good is if you somehow erase parts of the picture you're trying to insert. Except that I found erasing the background leaves you with a white box and does not produce the desired effect. 

This led to more @#%!ing 

After admitting to myself that I needed a little help I was given a brief tutorial by my exceptional man on background transparency. I finally had the basic know-how. And after two straight hours I was able to come up with:

(The re-occurring man is my Uncle, he has great appreciation for all things silly)

And this is how I gained respect for photo-editing. In the end it was a great deal of fun and today I learned how to make a post with my own photo-edited art. I will continue learning this craft and while I may never reach the level of @nonameslefttouse, I'm confident I will be able to hang with the amateurs.

Previous winners of @papa-pepper's wild and strange art contest: @ballinconscious (round 1) and @rigaronib (round 2) 

                                                               


Sort:  

Great post! I enjoyed the story of how you photo edited my edited photo :p

Ohhh, that's where I knew your name from :) I should have done my due diligence and made sure you were given proper recognition. I'll remedy that now, but the post has likely run most of it's course. Sorry about the oversight!

lol yeah, Mine was the original picture that made that picture. No, it's fine; Its an anonymous picture. It kinda make me like a super hero. Also I didn't make that picture, @rigaronib did. Do worry about, honestly there is no need to apologize.

The least I can do is upvote your comment...which I will :)

sounds good, Thanks for the upvote ^_^

You are doing well. Keep up the good work!

Thank you! But I was just informed by my daughter that the only real meme I have in this post is the one with Hook. Maybe the one with "Sounds reasonable". But in the case of Hook it's too long, and in the case of "Sounds reasonable" his facial expression doesn't reflect it enough...teenagers, they'll burst your bubble every time, haha! But thanks for the encouragement. And for giving me a new blog page to check out :)

Haha. That awesome and made me chuckle a couple of times. :) Well done.

That was the goal so..score! Thank you ;)

You're welcome! ._.

Excellent job sir @dreemit congratulations.
I appreciate your valuable time in visiting and commenting on my post many thanks

Why thank you, but I am a she, haha, I know that's confusing since I have posts of my brother on guitar and then the man in the pictures here (my uncle).

Please ma'am make my apologies

No worries, haha! It's totally fine ;)

I really don't want you to feel bad, I hope you don't! It was a reasonable error :) I value your input and love that you view my posts.

No lady @dreemit I have no right to feel bad, the one who has been wrong was me, neglect since today I am an official follower, I will visit your blog daily. it is a promise

Wow, thank you! I will do the same :)

had a chuckle , nice post

Thanks, I'm glad, that's what I was aiming for :)

This is the best!

Haha! I know!! I giggle every time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53615.59
ETH 2344.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13