Today I Learned Javascript - How to Get Started as a Steemit Front-End Developer - Part 3

in #til8 years ago (edited)

How do you eat an elephant? One day at a time...

So here I am on my third day of learning how to use Javascript. It's been interesting as I learned how to use script tags in a .html file and console.log functions in a .js file. I learned how to call a script if the .html is in the parent folder or if they are in separate folders altogether. Seems small but it's those little thing that compile over time that makes the difference.

As usual, I've added my notes / homework on today's lesson on my github repo -> here - I left annotations if you are curious what everything means.

JavaScript Road Trip Part 1 is now done and I'm going to start JavaScript Road Trip Part 2 tomorrow in CodeSchool where I will learn:

  • Loops
  • Declarations
  • Problem Solving with Functions
  • Building Arrays

Gamifying My Life

Can life be like a RPG (Role Playing Game) ?

When I was a kid I loved playing games like Dungeons and Dragons, where I had a character that started at Level 1 and then eventually acquired skills and leveled up to become a beast of a character. Later on I fell in love with the Final Fantasy series on super nintendo and playstation.

Could I be my own character playing in the game of my life? Of course!

And there's an app for that

I like to find cool apps to keep motivated in doing the things that are easy to do but also easy not to do. I like to have something to track and poke me when I do not do what I know I should do.

Basically, one makes quests, assign difficulty levels and fear levels to different task that we know we must do in order to "level up" in life. (I know...I'm such a geek)

I found it very interesting so far and a great framework for my personal/professional development.

A Compelling Vision

If you are a student of personal development, you probably know that a compelling vision or goal is the best way to be naturally motivated to move forward. It's tough to push ourselves but easy to be pull by something that excites us.

Yesterday I came up with a pretty grandiose idea of what I want to accomplish as a first front-end development project on the steem blockchain. I can't wait to present the first version of it...even though it might be a few months down the road.

Sort:  

Interesting Javascript links if you don't have them already:
http://www.w3schools.com/
http://api.jquery.com/
If you really want to get into modifying Wordpress heavily I also highly recommend PHP:
https://codex.wordpress.org/Developer_Documentation
http://php.net/manual/en/
https://steemit.com/technology/@taoteh1221/qqba5-introduction-to-php
Happy coding! :-)

Wow, so awesome to be able to be learning new code, good luck!

Good luck bud! Should be fun!

Hi @cryptoctopus I see you making progress. ..I actually posted about building an app but is more basic...you must also try out JQUAERY. ..you will love it

It's on the path :-)

Wonderful :-)

No link for the app?

make a post on that as we speak. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61320.84
ETH 2394.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56