RateMyTreads - walking on thin icesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #til8 years ago (edited)

Are you going out shopping for boots during the post Christmas sales?

If so, you might want to check out this web site I found called RateMyTreads.com before heading out so you'll be shopper savvy.


What they test are boot treads - much like testing snow tires vs all weather tires. They test the sole integrity to help lower injury risk.

Each pair tested is assigned a rating - they use snowflake icons. The testing happens on a tilted floor in a climate controlled environment called The Winter Lab. The floor is covered with different kinds of ices - bare, slippery and wet. Researchers wear the different boots for each test as the floor is tilted a degree at a time. The researchers are strapped by ceiling cords to keep them safe during the test.

One snowflake is awarded for boots that are slip proof for up to 7 degrees - the angle of an average accessibility ramp. Two snowflakes for up to 11 degrees and then a maximum rating of 15 degrees is awarded 3 snowflakes.

The boots that performed best have some grit embedded in the sole as well as tiny microfibres which enhance grip.

Only one in 10 have earned that one snowflake, none scored higher than that.

why this is so important

BROKEN HIPS ARE 911 EMERGENCIES and most people don't realize this - the femoral artery could be ruptured from a jagged bone break or the blood supply could be compromised.

Someone I know, my dear husband, had a slip and fall on black ice while walking the dog. Thankfully, he didn't break a hip but he did injure his shoulder.

Slips an falls are very dangerous for people of all ages, not just the elderly. Fractured hips due to ice falls are very common and can cause life time disabilities. The recovery is long and painful and sometimes crippling. Unfortunately, many, especially seniors or the elderly who break their hip have a shorter lifespan, sometimes dying within a year. Head injuries are also a possibility and equally as dangerous FOR ALL AGES.


source - giphy.com

Many of us have wrenched our lower backs in an attempt to stay grounded on two feet and that is painful. These spasms can take from days to weeks to recover fully. We laugh, giggle, chuckle when we see someone fall, I know, I'm the worst offender. But pain is serious to the person suffering.

Take a visit to RateMyTreads.com and see how the boots you are on your way out to buy have made the grade. If your boot isn't listed that's okay. You will learn something from the research.


source - LIM College - Preventing falls and spills

Safe walking everyone in winter land places.

Photos - Pixabay.com

@countrygirl

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.26 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 26 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thanks for the encouragement :0

Good information for those who don't know to choose proper boots. I don't need to byy ice Proof boots, but i'll save his post. Very helpful tips :)

Thanks Liliana. Hope your Christmas was nice.

It was diferent, but nice. Thanks! Hope you had a nice Christmas as well :)

Ours was good. Had family dinner yesterday. All is quiet now. :)

Glad to know :)

dog walkers are at risk if they live in wintry areas - I know - I just took a header the other day and I have Arctic cleats I can strap onto my boots. I didn't think to check the weather conditions before venturing out but I will now. The caution about broken hips is definitely true for all ages - a 911 emerg! Who knew?

This is an excellent post - informative and fact-filled. You should freelance for a magazine or newspaper...especially if the steemit gods don't adequately compensate you for this one, countrygirl :)

BTW, my favourite cartoon on this topic of icy spills involves a minister helping a man up after a fall, being so concerned and empathetic, but when the man limps out of the frame, the minister doubles over with laughter. I'm the same way, countrygirl...I know, it's sick...i can't help it, and it's embarrassing :)

You're welcome @johnjgeddes. After working in a hospital for years I saw a number of fractured hips and learned how deadly they can be. People just figure it's a minor pain and inconvenience.

Steemit gods? What do you mean? Isn't it the bloggers/posters who vote or compensate for what we write? I'm not sure I get what you are saying.

I'm referring to the vagaries of why one post succeeds and another fails. I'm hoping yours succeeds

Oh, I get it. I don't have an answer for that...luck of the draw maybe? Thanks for your well wishes.

Ice scares me, I walk with a walking stick and one little slip can cause a massive amount of problems, I don't go out at all when its slippy, this could be pretty useful :)

I know, right? When I saw it on the news I had to check out my boot treads....they are listed but I did some more research about it - I need new boots - mine are way too slippy and I can't fall...it would not be good.

I need something reliable, Slipping scares me

Are you going out shopping for boots during the post Christmas sales?

No @wahyu1989 - no thanks. I don't like the after christmas shopping crowds. I like quiet after the big day. How about you?

Hope your Christmas was nice.

Yes it was, thanks for asking - you?

Nice, helpful, instructive article! :)

'Course, I live in the Deep South (of California) and so we only see ice on the puddles briefly in the mornings of only some years... ;) We do have to face mud... and there is also my inevitable clumsiness! :D

Well, @creatr, you could always do a post on Wellies, or rain boots or hiking boots, or heck, surfer shoes....there is a plethora of footwear out there that needs to be tested.....lol....
Can you imagine how much fun it was for those researchers sliding all over on ice? I'd like that job. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63114.90
ETH 2626.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72