TIL: Oh the irony ...

in #til6 years ago (edited)

I like REI. Somewhat pricey for sure, unless you're a member and can take advantage of their specials and garage sale events, etc.

So I got this rather thick envelope from them in the mail this afternoon. It's a thank you for using an REI Co-op Mastercard with a reminder that, for every purchase I make, they'll be donating ten cents USD to the National Forest Foundation to promote the health and public enjoyment of the 193-million-acre National Forest System.

It's a kind of cheesy bi-fold 2018 calendar with an insert to place one of my favorite outdoor photos.

Hmmm, I wonder what all that paper work is made from? 🤨






cognoscere.jpg

All images @cognoscere and taken on Saturday December 9th, 2017 (Apple iPhone 7 Plus)

Sort:  

good and classic one and even the simplest thing can be articulated in best way which is really evident from this.

Thank you and have a great day

Ha, yeah it couldn't be from trees could it?
This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by @chelsea88 (not a bot)

I think you're on to something ;-)

I mean not only is it hypocritical, just does it even work... In todays world? Seems to me to come off as cheap and cheesy lol.

Totally agree!!!

excellent photography....
5764.jpg

Seems pretty nice initiative buddy liked it !

That is quite ironic. Help save the trees, here's all the paper in the mail box to help. Kind of drives me batty sometimes. Then again, my mailbox is full of junk every day. Trees trees trees to the waste pile. Major connectivity disconnect.

The Mastercard part didn't surprise me, but the link up with REI which is an outdoors-focused co-op seemed just a bit hypocritical to me. And the whole junk mail thing is an insane waste of time and resources 90+% of the time!

hahah irony at its best lol

Recycled toilet paper would be my guess. lol

Haha, could very well be!!!

Even sadder is most people probably throw those away. What a waste of a tree. Unless it's a bill I trash junk mail.

It's surprising that USPS still exists and that they don't charge a higher bulk rate for junk mail IMHO.

Very beautiful photography
Thanks @cognoscere
Have a nice day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64168.03
ETH 3172.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84