TIL of a Unique Species of Worm that Can Only Surive in Cold Temperatures

in #til8 years ago (edited)

The ice worm is a certain species of worm recently discovered (the article I am reading is from 2013) by scientists, and is actually visible to the naked eye. This species of worm lives in ice glaciers, and thrives in only cold conditions. (Here's the cool part) If they are exposed to temperatures above 40°F (about 4.4°C), they melt. I have hated worms, snakes, and stink bugs since I was a kid. So to know that there is a species of worm that melts if it comes anywhere near my state, makes me overjoyed (No offense to any worm lovers). These worms can be located in glaciers North America (Washington, Alaska, Oregon, and the British Columbia). 

[Article that I read this information from]

Thanks for reading this! Winter break is only one day away. As much as I enjoy spending three hours of my free time on school days writing Art of War reviews, I hope to finish the AOW review series during break. (Please wish me luck, I'll need it). I also hope to post more than once a day if possible (hopefully). let me know if you thought this was a cool animal fact. Maybe I'll make more of them, who knows. As always, leave feedback. I will see you next time!

Also remember to check for: My weekly 7 post, and my weekly piano performance of Christmas pieces.   

Sort:  



[Join us on #steemSTEM]

An interesting creature! Thank you for taking the time to share with us all things which you have recently learned and found interesting. There is such a wide variety of incredible life forms on our Earth, it is always fun to learn about new ones!

As a bonus, and in addition to resteeming for exposure. We are awarding you a small 5 Steem Power deposit as a thank you for creating quality STEM related postings on Steemit. We hope you will continue to educate us all!

I looked at the wikipedia article for these worms, never heard of them. In fact I have never heard of an organism that has a membrane which breaks down at such a low temperature.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ice_worm

Thanks! I'm glad you learned something new:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57676.72
ETH 2356.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39