Semi Precious Stones - My Next Quest Stone #1 Ajoit

in #til8 years ago

Semi Precious Stones & Crystals That Can Be Found In Limpopo - South Africa

I have recently heard of some amazing stones that can be found right on my doorstep where I live and decided to learn more about them. Yo can have a look at the different stones on my previous post:

https://steemit.com/southafrica/@breezin/semi-precious-stones-my-next-quest\

The first stone was Ajoit.
And here is what I have learnt about this stone so far:

"Ajoite is a hydrated sodium potassium copper aluminium silicate hydroxide mineral. Ajoite is used as a minor ore of copper."
www.wikipedia.com

Ajoit is a stone that is very sought after by mineral collectors & jewelers alike, in our area Ajoit is mostly fount intertwined into quarts crystals, and can be found in areas where Copper is. the reason for this is that Ajoite is a secondary mineral, This means that Ajoit can only form when there are other minerals present that forms when the mineral copper deposits oxidizes.
Have you ever worn a copper bracelet and realized that the skin around it sometimes turns blue / green? That is due to the high acidic levels in the skin. It causes the copper to oxidase.
It is that very same secondary colors that forms Ajoit. hence its stunning blue, green or blue-green colors.
In nature however, the oxidation is predominantly caused when the mineral copper in the copper-rich base metal deposits are in the presence of meteoric water circulation that can be found in massive fracture coatings, in vein fillings, and in vugs.
This process is called Supergene or enrichment. These minerals from the copper and copper sulfides are then deposited by
receding water level and combined with other minerals present to form this beautiful stone. This can also form Shattuckite, and I will add that to my list of stones I have never heard of before and will be learning about it as soon as possible!

In appearance the Ajoit embedded in the quarts displays as splashes of crystals with prismatic qualities. these elongates strands start at the crystals C-Axis stretching to the crystal wall as it flattens sideways.

Ajoit is about the same hardness as floride or calcite, and a bit denser than its quarts host.

I also read that not only Shattuckite but also Conichalcite and Muscovite can be found in similar localities - More for me to learn about, I didn't realize how many mineral stones I didn't know about - and this is so far just the ones that occur in my area.

I didn't know this and if there is someone out there that doesn't know either:
a Vog is a small cavity in a rock or vein, often lined with crystals.

Sort:  

I love stones! I had to research different ones for the second book in my series, and I enjoyed it (usually I hate research, haha) I learned there's all kinds of interesting qualities attached to them, such as healing and peace. I'm not big on anything hokey, but I believe that naturally occurring things of the earth can certainly house beneficial properties.
I didn't know you lived in South Africa, I love how my friends on steemit are all over the globe!

Cool post. I have my own stone collection too, they are so pretty!

If you get into the spirituality of crystals, you discover how different crystals have different energies. Thank you for sharing.

Really nice post you've got there. the stones are just superb.
i would love to see a vog

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.79 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 26 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60731.80
ETH 2630.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62