You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TIL TIL stats - TIL about the TIL success on Steemit

in #til8 years ago (edited)

the number of votes that shows how much users are attracted by a post;

Due to the number of bots, auto-voting, and trails, I think that "number of votes" is a very poor metric to use for the "success" of a post. I would think that quality commenting would be the best to measure that. Even comments as a raw number is skewed due to the number of people simply looking to add to their post totals and fishing for upvotes from them.

If the comment is a genuine reply to the content that you posted, I'd go with that as the best measure for "success."

Sort:  

I agree. I was actually making a remark with this respect in my post.

Using comments may be the key, but they should not be used as such to. Some comments are there only to thank the author for sharing (or similar) while others are really triggering discussions. For the moment, I have no automatic way to assess what is what, beyond using the length of the comment (but is this reliable?).

What also reinforce what you said is that the distribution in the number of votes seems similar whatever is the category. I have not tried, but I guess we can assume that the distribution may be similar in mot categories (above a certain popularity threshold).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66239.71
ETH 3448.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61