TIL: 50% of Murder VICTIMS Have Alcohol In Their System

in #til7 years ago (edited)

In the following interview about the impact of economic inequality, Dr. Jordan B. Peterson and evolutionary psychology pioneer Dr. Martin Daly brought up an interesting statistic that I'd never heard before which is that about 50% of murderers had alcohol in their systems at the time of the murder. Not only that, but 50% of the victims did too!

Disclaimer: These are my personal opinions and views. They do not represent the official positions of Steemit Inc. or any employees thereof

Coincidentally I was also recently watching the following video of Simon Sinek in which he points out that almost all alcoholics discovered alcohol when they were teenagers.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying that alcohol is the root of all evil, or drawing a hard causal relationship between alcohol and any other sociological phenomena. But throughout my life I couldn't help but notice how often alcohol played a factor in the bad events I either witnessed or experienced. The correlation has seemed to so strong that I once asked myself, "What would a dystopian future where the world was ravaged by alcohol abuse look like?" Ever since I first had that thought I've had difficulty not seeing our very own world as exactly that. Just walk around your local downtown Thursday through Saturday night and estimate how many people have alcohol coursing through their veins. 90% percent often seems like a fair estimate. And all of this ignores the well established link between alcohol consumption and negative health effects.

What's My Point?

What causes violence is an insanely complex subject that is unlikely to boil down to one causal factor. Daly's hypothesis seems to be that what it really comes down to is relative income inequality, and that seems right to me. Even a certain percentage of the aforementioned alcohol consumption may very well be attributable to people steeling themselves in anticipation of a violent confrontation. In other words, the alcohol in people's systems might to some extent be explained by them preparing for a violent confrontation and not the cause of the confrontation itself.

Cigarettes

However, given the ridiculously high percentage of both perpetrators of violence and victims of violence with alcohol in their blood I can't help but wonder if we could seriously reduce our own likelihoods of being the victims of violence (or the perpetrators) if we limit our own alcohol consumption. I'm certainly not saying that we should ban alcohol, but perhaps we should reconsider how accepting we are of its prominence within our culture. Many know that alcohol can be as bad for your health as smoking cigarettes, but cigarettes do not have this connection to violence, and yet people do not hesitate to openly and vocally criticize those who smoke.

An Alcohol Tax?

Many might argue for taxing alcohol like we tax cigarettes, but I am not at all impressed by the supposed impact these taxes have with respect to decreasing consumption nor am I convinced that the negative impact of criminalizing related activities (like selling loose cigarettes which is what led to the death of Eric Garner) are not worth considering. I don't feel the analyses of these taxes adequately account for the ever increasing awareness of the negative health effects of smoking, the social stigma that has become attached to the activity, or the aforementioned negative side effects of criminalization that are rarely considered. But the taxes due demonstrate our attitude toward smoking. We as a society are willing to publicly penalize people who participate in this unhealthy and dangerous act and the science of social pressure is well established.

Throwing Stones

At this stage in my life, I am always hesitant to tell other people how to live their lives. The aphorism, "Every time you point a finger at a person, there are 4 more pointing back at you," has demonstrated itself to be more of a "truism." I obviously am not going to walk around chastising anyone who chooses to have an alcoholic beverage, nor am I going to abstain myself. But I do think it's safe to say that given the horrifying correlation I opened this article with, this is at the very least a conversation we aren't having nearly enough.

Sort:  

Alcohol may trigger aggression or violence by disrupting normal brain function. It dramatically weakens the brain mechanisms responsible for preventing impulsive behaviors. A person is more at risk of misjudging social cues, ultimately overreacting to a discerned threat. Now in the case of premeditation accompanied with alcohol, it could be interpreted as a "facilitator", "mean" of achievement.

Alcohol sure is not the only reason behind the criminal accidents. It is just that a person when is high has a greater probability of misjudging and doing something that is socially unacceptable. Therefore, we cannot come out with any conclusion like banning the alcoholic beverages or anything like that. It just should be kept in mind and made aware that it should be consumed timely and appropriately. The quantity also matters a lot.

Valuable information. Thanks for the comment!

That's an interesting stat about the amount of murderers with alcohol in their systems. I'm sure if you could find stats for other things such as criminal damage, people cheating on their partners, petty theft etc you would also see some sort of correlation between them and alcohol consumption. The fact is that under the influence of alcohol you are just more likely to make bad decisions.

As for increased taxation of alcohol, here in the UK we already have to pay a lot in tax on our booze and it's not cheap! A lot of people still drink heavily, but younger generations are starting to drink less than their parents did

Great point. If it's 50% of all murders, who knows what the percentage is for theft, assault, etc.

And what a horrible correlation it is indeed. Like you, at this stage in my life I prefer not tell people how to live their lives or whether to drink or not, but seeing how alcohol is associated with violence it really is worrisome.

Alcohol, the original "gateway drug" and Satan's urine.

lol, Satan's Urine

Great article. Thank you!

Alcohol is a sweet and a slow poison that degenerates a human mind for short term and his/her whole body in the long run.

Hey guys I just made a post on why I think young people should use steemit and how they get effected by social media i am 14 myself so i understand
Thanks :)

I think almost anything can be abused, but with alcohol in my anecdotal experience it becomes bad when people are using it as a form of "escape". I think often people can have issues and use alcohol as a coping mechanism.

I guess it is good if controlled but in excess, it could be detrimental to one's self and the people around them.

Alcohol related deaths are enormous, while weed is illegal. In my country, you have many football fans, who get drunk, and than they make problems.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63180.80
ETH 3418.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46