Trying Strange Foods In China Part... I Don't Know. Corner Store Mystery Meat!

in #tic7 years ago

"Lawson's is a British chain similar to 7-11 in North America. I doubt they serve this in the UK!!"


What the heck is this? If you know me, you know I will try eating anything offered to me at least once, morally speaking. I've seen this at many of the local shops for years and I always dodged it. Today hunger and lack of time took over plus it was Lawson's so I was banking on it being safe to eat. The smaller shops are real sketchy when it comes to food health and safety, I've learned the hard way many times and will learn again ><

It's a small shop between the company I work for and one of the schools they send me to, No.9 I mentioned in a recent post, literally a 5 minute walk. I had an extended break, 40 minutes woot! compared to the 10 I usually get.

Are you interested in a taste?

Well I can't understand all this says, let's be real, I HAVE NO CLUE!!

It's obviously a bunch of different processed meats and fish maybe something imitating food maybe blatantly not food. It's all being cooked and kept at the right temperature in the same broth. I expect it all to taste pretty much the same which is does aside from some spices hidden deep in the mix; I can tell something is spicy or not, does that count as different?

They got some normal food that westerners will enjoy. Maybe you're brave enough to try Mystery Meat just to know.

Well, I tried three different ones, randomly by looks. I could tell that what's in the centre of this photo is most likely Tripe (stommache lining from and animal) which I do enjoy in a proper Vietnamese Pho soup but like this I will skip it.

I offered some of it to an ally cat begging for food but she passed on it. Hmm. Makes me even more curious as to which meat it is or it could be the smell of the spices.

Would you give this a go?

TIC = This Is China

Sort:  

Seems yummy! However as I know the food that you bought from Lawson is Japanese food but not Chinese food haha
It is known as 關東煮 and I love it too!!

Btw take a look at my new post if you have time :) I think you may be interested ;)
Let's swear in Cantonese!

Ah cool, It's Japanese. If I had known that I would have tried sooner. lol

And I will check out your post for sure.!

Hahaha XD
Keep trying new food in China! I am looking forward to your reports :)

I learned in Thailand in the seventies.
taste it...
if you like it..
fine...
eat it.
do NOT
be concerned
what it is.
or where it came
from.

I learned in Thailand "If you never try, you never know". Of course, this was from a ladyboy...

Very wise words. Pretty much what I adhere too. haha.

Nice article Solarguy! Do you still have the info about the solar power for home applications :)?

I'm saving it for a post. I will post that tomorrow or this weekend promise.

Thanks... however, you don't look too happy.

haha. Yea. I often have this expression on my face before i bite into a strange food.

Yeah, I would have to be beyond shit faced to try lawson's mystery meat.

I remember the first "hotdog" I had in China. Out in the trenches in Guigang, and I was desperate for anything Western. Saw a "hotdog" stand.

With the very first bite I knew I'd made a serious mistake. It tasted like meat candy it was so full of sugar. bleccch.

never trusted snack food here since.

Why do Chinese Hot Dogs taste sweet. haha. OMG wth.

I prefer the Family Mart mystery soup meat and tea eggs but still avoid them all whenever possible. You are a brave man, sir. Welcome to Shenzhen for some street food. Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62