Throwback Thursday with @gee1: GeoSpatial Micky

Thursdays are for throwbacks and today's edition is intriguing and lovely for me.
Yesterday, I was pondering on what to publish today than I decided to reflect on some works with pictorial evidence that I have done lately.

FB_IMG_1521577550640.jpg

Five years ago, in June I got a placement for internship at the National Space Research and Development Agency (NASRDA), Abuja.
It was really a great place for internship which I would recommend to students of GeoSciences, Engineering and Computing sciences.

fig2-2k15-1020-1025.gif

I learnt a great of Geospatial information comprising of satellite image acquisition, GIS analysis, Remote Sensing and Image interpretation.

unnamed (2).png

NASRDA been the foremost and largest Space agency is Africa, meant a great deal of responsibility for staff and IT students.
I joined the team who produced the map displayed here.
It was a map aimed at proffering mitigative solutions and vulnerability analysis of the disastrous flood that affected 25 states out of Nigeria's 36 states.

images (15).jpg

FB_IMG_1521576263865.jpg

I also met expatriate from University of Toronto, Canada who explained practical components of Astronomy and Cosmology to the interns.
The Trainers from Canada inspired my decision for a Postgraduate studies in Europe or America which I hope it comes true someday.

FB_IMG_1522322772219.jpg

FB_IMG_1522322794861.jpg

Mapping of Abuja phase I was one task that was challenging and fulfilled where field work exercise was conducted with Phase I of Abuja featuring; Garki I and 2, Wise 1 and 2, Asokoro and Maitama.

FB_IMG_1522323061012.jpg

FB_IMG_1522322919936.jpg

FB_IMG_1522323053864.jpg

FB_IMG_1522323041068.jpg
Of course I had to unwind and relax pressures with some photos with friends.

Pictures were taken with my Itel Camera phone as at then while the maps were designed by a team which I was part of

download (1).png

Sort:  

Hello @mickeyscofield, I enjoyed your qualitative content, my name is ovie abunumah and am known on steemit as @ovimax, i an into science, technology and innovation, i make some hope to invent sime things but presently i am innovating om robotics, i do them as a hobby and i want to make a drone by Gods grace but i dont have enough yet so o can use it to do #mapping and aerial photography. I really pray you get the opportunity to go for your postgrduate studies im europe or america😊😊😊👍

Drone for mapping and aerial photography?
That is really great and creative too...
I hope you have the needed support and finances to execute this project

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39