Throwback: Sheer Delight, February 2018

in #throwback6 years ago

DSC_8903-6.jpg

Maybe a few months ago, I started to bring back some of my older self portraits works as reposts, but then forgot all about it. I want to share some of my older works because I'm sure there area huge lot of you that have joined Steemit/started following me later on and have missed much of my pictures. Another reason to share is to reflect a bit on the older works and think of what I would do differently now.

These were shot on an apartment in Helsinki that I was house sitting for a few days almost a year ago, and I used the trusty Nikon D7200 with Nikkor 35mm 1.8G. That was my go to combo for self portraits, a marvellous little lens that Nikkor, but I don't use it anymore because I have upgraded my gear quite a lot.

I'm really feeling my outfit in these photos, and I know I've only worn this dressing gown type of sheer thing only for these pictures and now I see that I will definitely have to dig it up again. There is a bit of Old Hollywood and Film Noir style going on with these, but I would go back in and rethink composition more, and go for a lot higher contrast. I do like these images but they do a fall a bit flat. I probably have the raw files somewhere on my hard drive and I could go back and see what I could do differently with Photoshop. Maybe that is an idea for another series to do on the blog, let me know what you think of it.

Original post

DSC_8887-5.jpg

DSC_8883-4.jpg

DSC_8876-3.jpg

DSC_8868-1.jpg

DSC_8873-2.jpg

Sort:  

Revisiting old work is never a dull task. It helps me maintain perspective, review successful attempts, and helps guide progress. I'm itching to see more of your work.

If I may, the fourth image strikes me -- an elegant gait while drawing the blinds with your full length of reach, fills the frame nicely. I seldom shoot a vertical that well.

Scrolling up and down looking at these i'm thinking they are perfect as is. I've been watching Noir Alley on TMC here on Saturday nights - tells you about my social life haha - but i digress. A lot of interior shots are just like this! There is that very dark shadow thing they do also. Night shots on the street etc. Might get a little cold! ; )

gorgeous as usual =) nice "old" shots Eve! I love that 1920's style, it suits you well!

this has that classic film noir vibe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61720.10
ETH 2429.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63