Thrive Life on the Road

in #thrive7 years ago

This past Thursday, we traveled from Wisconsin to Mississippi, for a funeral.
For most, eating during a trip might not be a problem, I mean, food is abundant everywhere, right? Not if you have food sensitivities. Our 2 year old niece, A, has 33 food sensitivities, and I have 15, a big one for both of us is gluten. So, I planned ahead and made sandwiches, got cheese sticks, beef hot dogs, and decided I would make a meal in a jar to take with, as well as eggs. Well, eggs I don't feel comfortable with driving across the US with raw egg, and I'm not going to precook them because they just taste bad after a few days, and we are staying till Sunday, going home sometime that day.
Thrive Life has almost every type of food there is, fruits, veggies, bakery, basics, and proteins. So, I decided I would pack some scrambled egg powder, diced chilis, and my own curry masala, into some snack size baggies. Just add water and cook and you have scrambled eggs. No possibility of broken eggs, and its lightweight too!
I also put together rice, cheese blend powder, scrambled egg powder, ground beef, green beans, carrots, and chefs blend, in a wide mouth mason jar. Why the jar instead of a quart baggy? Because I wasn't sure what I was going to have to rehydrate the rissoto with. Turns out Mom brought her Pampered Chef Micro Cooker. That actually worked out, because the hotel we are staying at doesn't have hot water on demand with their coffee, so I had to heat the water anyway. So I poured 2 cups of water into the cooker, and microwaved it for 5 minutes. After the water was boiling, I just emptied the jar into the cooker, stired, replaced the lid and let it sit for 10 minutes. It was completely rehydrated, even the ground beef! We both enjoyed it. A had a hotdog and yogurt, she doesn't care for rice.
We also brought freeze dried peaches and peas with which she eats when we can't find food for her to eat elsewhere.

If your interested in learning more about Thrive Life, here's our website;
www.hubbardsthrive.thrivelife.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43