THRIFTING PICKS: Strong Nintendo GameCube Score Today + 2002 First Gen Apple iPod!

in #thrifting6 years ago (edited)

IMG_9983.jpg

Today's Damage:

Ran into a solid rare Nintendo GameCube game lot and snatched up the good ones. All very hard to find and great sellers in excellent shape. The Super Smash Bros case didn't have the game, but it had the GameBoy disc in it, which is even better. Games were $5 cash each.

  • GameBoy Player Startup Disc... $70 (was in the empty case below)
  • GameCube Gauntlet Dark Legacy... $65
  • Mario Party 5... $59
  • Phantasy Star Online Episode I & II... $55
  • Empty Super Smash Bros Melee Case w/ Manual... $13

I also found a PlayStation 2 Game Shark complete with manuals for $3.26... this will sell for $20 for ~$11 profit to cover my snacks and bus rides today.

Lastly, I found a Tecnifibre squash racquet for $3.26. It'll clean it up to like new condition with rubbing alcohol with no scratches or chips. The grip and strings are great. These are expensive new and sell well, so I'll likely get $65-70, although it could be worth more.

Solid Bonus:

IMG_9986.jpg

Here's a first gen 10 GB Apple iPod from 2002 I found recently for $27.21 without the power supply/cable. It originally had them when I first saw it, but they took it from me and told me they couldn't sell it yet. Two weeks later, it was unexpectedly kept under the counter for me by an employee looking to help me out, but it'd lost the other pieces by then. I negotiated down to a fair price and got my replacement supplies ($18 extra invested) to test/verify/resell it. It works and the battery is strong!! It barely shows any wear except one tiny chip in the headphone jack port. It also has a full clip of 1,601 songs on it for bonus value.

The asking price for these online is $250+, so I'll win here. Broken units sell for $100. It's one of most collectible iPods as of the first ones ever made.

Total time spent = 2.5 hours (includes 2 bus rides and 25 blocks on foot.

Total spent (minus iPod from previous day) = $26.52 - This is exactly the type of buy low value I look for, as everything is nearly free.

*While at the GameCube store, I told the employee about Steemit since he's involved on Instagram and into crypto, and he seemed pretty geared up to register.

My Background: If you like thrifting, no one has been to more thrift stores than me in the last 5 years, often hitting 15+ a day when locked in. I've found and sold thousands of items, so my experience can be helpful for any level of reseller. Follow for examples, strategies, and tips. Feel free to ask questions.

**Update - I listed 4 of the games and 2 sold within an hour (Gauntlet Dark Legacy/Game Boy Player Start-up).

@steemmatt

Sort:  

I love finding games as they are so easy to ship - great haul man! :D

SuperSmash Bros will forever be one of the best games ever made! Period. haha It doesn't matter if it was for 64 Game Cube or Wii, they were all great!

One of the hardest decisions I have in life, is keeping Nintendo games like these or not. I have so many game system to test my purchases I've accumulated from thrifting, that it's beyond tempting. I've found them all and always sell them because "I'll find them again". Mario Party games hit the same nerve as Smash does with you. ::pound::

I totally agree with Mario Party too! You can never go wrong with any one of them! My vote would be to keep those two!

I still own the original Nintendo with Mario bros and Duck hunt combo with the gun. Super Nintendo with Super Mario World, SEGA, Playstation, and Sega Saturn. I am a old school game collector. The only systems I am missing are Dream Cast and Nintendo Game Cube.

I enjoyed Mario party as a kid, but by far my favorite was Mario 64.

And I'm here thinking like; What the hell is a game cube :D?... I guess that wasn't a thing anymore when I was younger

haha go online and find one when you have some extra cash, it was a great! The graphics are nothing like they are now but man was it fun!

Smash Bros storytime, back just after college a friend of mine used to host super smash bros for n64. He was still in college, so got the university to pay for a video game club because the basement got too small. I was never that good at the game but other people were a lot better. Good times, though in some respects playing video games held me back from finding thrifting/reselling so perhaps a lot of wasted years.

I remember smashing on everyone with Kirby and Samus.

Solid day I would say. I had a Gamecube for a few month and didn't really like the games(besides smash bros.) and the controller were a bit weird for me. I also have the original Ipod its now a collectors item. I am glad you scored big with today's shopping.
How long have you been thrifting?

Thanks. It was a nice score for the quick time I put into it. When I go all out, I can bring home much more if I catch a few good veins of fresh merchandise. I quit my job roughly 3 years ago to do this "full-time", but I did it hustling on the side for about 2 years before I quit.

Oh nice! Yeah there is so much good stuff at thrift stores. I one time picked up a golf club set with a bag all for only $10!!!!
Keep doing what you do best brother and make sure you hit some homers for your team!!!

Hi steemmatt, I still have an old Atari system with games, but I don’t know how to sell it or what it is worth. Could you help me?

Can you list the games and the Atari model number? I can look them up for you.

Atari 2600 with teo joysticks
Games; kangaroo, enduro, frogger, raiders of the lost k, plaque attack, pole position, jungle hunt, mariobros
China syndrome, outlaw, room of doom
Swordquest. Human canonball. None of the packaging is good anymore.

Most of the games aren't worth too much. If there aren't any boxes or manuals, that decreases value. The mario bros might be $20 USD and room of doom maybe $30+,

Which Swordquest do you have? Waterworld is very valuable if that's the one you have.

Earthworld, this has a box and manual

Ahhhh. That doesn't have much value. If you want to sell them, it's probably best to list them as a bundle on eBay after testing them to get it out of the way. Selling the pieces individually might make a little more in the long run, but will take forever with more effort.

Owo superb revenue. it is too much benefit like in crypto.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75