Thrift Store Finds

in #thrift7 years ago (edited)

I love thrift stores because you never know what you might find.

I've read stories about people finding valuable things like maps behind paintings or even instances where people have found rare carnival glass worth thousands of dollars.

I've never found anything worth that sort of value, but I still love finding treasures. Here's a few that I found in the past few months.

IMG_20170619_152447 (3).jpg

It has this little description on the back:

I can't seem to get the picture from the back of the print to post, so I'll type it out.

It says:

X. Portrait of Armand Roulin (1888)
Oil on canvas. 26. x 21 3/4 in.
Museum Folkwang, Essen

"In this engaging portrait, the sitter is placed at a nonchalantly casual angle in the picture space. The easy grace of young man-hood is conveyed by the flowing, thin painting, the rhythmic countours of shoulder and slouch hat, and the simple colour harmonies. The blue of the hat is picked up by vest and button and the wavering yet definite contour line. Against an expanse of green lies a large area of yellow--that colour which symbolized for the painter all the positive values of love and life.
During his year in Arles, Von Gogh painted many portraits of his neighbours. None of them were commissioned. They are, like this one, unpretentious studies of humble people of various ages. Unlike traditional portraits by earlier masters, they rely on colour rather than the play of light and shadow to bring out character. Realistically drawn, they nonetheless reveal the artist's loving sympathy."

It was probably sold in a gift shop in Essen, but I got it for $1.00. So I'd say it's a good find.

This is a little bible with a wooden cover that I found for $4.00. It was made in Jerusalem and the cover is made out of olive tree wood.

I found a few like it online going for 90.00-100.00 dollars. So $4.00 is a great deal, and it's lovely and in perfect condition.

Sort:  

#girlboss was a great book about a girl who seemed to just be waundering through life. She shopped thrift and vintage shops and dressed the clothing up on some low key models and made a killing on ebay. I really connected to the book and your article because we only shopped at thrift shops growing up with 13 kids in my family. Anyways just a suggestion would be to buy on a budget and sell for a profit on ebay or a resale store.

You could be related to me kellyfamily! I'm the 12th youngest out of 13 children. It's funny because as a kid, I never wanted to be seen near a thrift store, but like you, it was part of life. Now I love thrift stores.
I've actually sold a few finds on Ebay, that's great advice! Thank you for your response. I think that people from large families are some of the most awesome people! The most difficult part is, keeping up with all the birthdays and holidays. I've learned that baking is a good way to do that without going broke. :)

Thank you for reading and responding jetblake! Have a wonderful everning!

You too. Love your posts!

Very cool. Before my children were born I used to go to garage and estate sales to find hidden treasures to sell on eBay. It was fun and I made a little money.

Nice weq! I've gone to a few estate sales as well and found some great deals. Some things that I've noticed that are doing well on Ebay right now are things like coffee percolators that can be used when camping. I found one that looked brand new at a thrift store and searched online for the price they are going for. The one I bought I got for 0.50 cents and the same one was on Ebay going for over $50.00. I think when times are uncertain, people start thinking about things that will keep them going if things get more difficult. I actually have a survival pack myself.

That's very interesting about the coffee percolator. Fifty cents was a huge bargain! I agree with you about people planning for uncertain times. I'm doing the same. In fact, that was a catalyst to finally planting a garden and my husband keeping bees. It's better to be prepared!

That's awesome weq, I have never had much of a green thumb. I agree it's good to be prepared.

Great finds! I love seeing all the cool stuff in thrift stores!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57