You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Circle Jerks - Let's Talk About It

in #threespeak5 years ago (edited)

I get that you don't like the term circle jerk. Fair enough, I only used it for reference.

At the end of the day you're right about it essentially being a disagreement over reward value... and everyone has a choice to use their downvotes to try and combat what they see as wrong. That really is one of the successes of the EIP that the consensus so far seems to be one of sensible measures to incentivise proof of brain.

My main concern is the effect on new users watching very obvious vote trading circles. And I think it's a legitimate concern - as long as steem is considered a content creators platform - for the long term success of steem! The community needs to grow with a healthy dynamic... but at this point it just needs to grow to build the value of the network and the market cap!

I've personally seen the amount of people who've left steem because of either bidbots or vote swapping when curating for curie. Because I used to watch promising new content creators for potential submissions, I saw many who wrote final posts quiting within weeks of joining. In most cases they cited the reasons I mentioned.

Sort:  

I agree on the effects to outside viewers. I don't agree with downvoting people based on who voted on them. I don't see "vote traders" making great content, because if they did, they wouldn't need to trade votes. So, with vote trading comes greed, and with greed comes downvotes.

The system is self correcting in the end if people use the tools available to them.

One cocern is fear of honest voting due to retailiation. This is a subject I am brain storming to come up with possible solutions. I think without fear of realtionation, we would see a equalibriem on what content is worth what and get a more fair free market assement on what each post is worth.

I don't see "vote traders" making great content, because if they did, they wouldn't need to trade votes.

Yeah, I agree with this completely. I'm not sure if I communicated that well in my comment.

One concern is fear of honest voting due to retailiation. This is a subject I am brain storming to come up with possible solutions. I think without fear of realtionation, we would see a equalibriem on what content is worth what and get a more fair free market assement on what each post is worth.

Interesting. I'll think on this one myself as well, although I'm not sure if I'll come up with anything tbh, it's a difficult conundrum. It's definitely a legitimate fear for most users... simply because of stake and people not wanting to have their accounts destroyed. This is just a risk you take, but the fear is very real for lower stakeholders. I literally didn't downvote at all until about a month ago, and I've never been fearful about expressing my opinions about some of these issues in comments on posts where many people would have seen them. It's an odd psychological effect that the fear of hitting that downvote button sticks.

Anyway, interesting conversation... it has left me thinking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63788.21
ETH 2472.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67