Do I have to talk about the Kurds, Turkey and Trump?

in #threespeak5 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Not something I particularly wanted to do, but I'm getting a lot of heat on Twitter for my position.

I also talk a bit about Succoth and the weather in Israel at the end. The Hebrew calendar is rather a special creation when it comes to aligning with the seasons in Israel.

I'll put up more extensive notes at some point on brianoflondon.me.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Just read that the GOP is introducing legislation to sanction Turkey,

I do not actually think the US should be in Syria and the ME. We need to stand on our feet and look after our own backyard. We need to stop taking US aid as well.

WOW! Did I get almost $6 from being thumbed up?

@brianoflondon, Sometimes we don't want to but our Position makes us talk for sure. And current situations are creating events and people have so much to talk.

Specially Political and War like situations are creating lot of Talks and Discussive Environment. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is great stuff by Caroline Glick on Trump and the Kurds. She does go on to recommend strikes on Iran (to make up for not striking earlier) which won't be to everyone's taste, but she knows a great deal more than I do and has travelled in the region which I haven't done.

The hard truth is that the 50 US soldiers along the Syrian-Turkish border were a fake tripwire. Neither Trump nor the US military had any intention of sacrificing US forces to either block a Turkish invasion of Syria or foment deeper US involvement in the event of a Turkish invasion.

Apparently, in the course of his phone call with Trump on Sunday, Erdoğan called Trump’s bluff. Trump’s announcement following the call made clear that the US would not sacrifice its soldiers to stop Erdoğan’s planned invasion of the border zone.

But Trump also made clear that the US did not support the Turkish move. In subsequent statements, Trump repeatedly pledged to destroy the Turkish economy if Turkey commits atrocities against the Kurds.

If the Pentagon can be brought on board, Trump’s threats can easily be used as a means to formally diminish the long-hollow US alliance with Turkey.

Here it is critical to note that Trump did not remove US forces from Syria. They are still deployed along the border crossing between Jordan, Iraq, and Syria to block Iran from moving forces and materiel to Syria and Lebanon. They are still blocking Russian and Syrian forces from taking over the oil fields along the eastern bank of the Euphrates. Aside from defeating ISIS, these missions are the principle strategic achievements of the US forces in Syria. For now, they are being maintained. Will Turkey’s invasion enable ISIS to reassert itself in Syria and beyond? Perhaps. But here too, as Trump made clear this week, it is not America’s job to serve as the permanent jailor of ISIS. European forces are just as capable of serving as guards as Americans are. America’s role is not to stay in Syria forever. It is to beat down threats to US and world security as they emerge and then let others – Turks, Kurds, Europeans, Russians, UN peacekeepers – maintain the new, safer status quo.

Politics aside, the weather is one of the important points for everyone who lives in Israel or just visits this country as a tourist. There can be a storm and a sandstorm + the difference in temperature between day and night. would advise to have access to this site - https://meteoprog.co.il/en/ This way you will always be aware of the situation.

There are only 2 decent options: 1) Go all in with at least 2 Armoured Corps and redraw the map of the ME to create a Kurdish State and breaking off pieces of Iraq, Syria, Iran and Turkey in the process OR just get out, as Trump is doing.
The US doesn't have the capability or appetite to do the former. Only Israel has the capability but not the appetite (although this would be a huge strategic positive for Israel).

I watched your drone video but I couldn't find a way to comment on it, maybe because it was live streamed. Trump is fulfilling his promises and the problem is he's not getting any support from our Representatives. We can't defend out southern borders from illegal entry and maybe Trump is going to relocate those 1000 troops to Texas. Questions, how did brianoflondon end up in Israel and what type of drone did you use for your taping? The video quality was stupendous!

Yes, the live videos can't be commented on after they end, but you're here! That's great.

I left the UK just over 10 years ago to bring up my Jewish kids in a Jewish homeland. I've done videos on this but perhaps I'll go through my origin story again sometime soon.

My drone is a DJI Mavic Air, over a year old and on to my second set of batteries but there still isn't a newer drone I'd replace it with because it is so small and portable but takes such amazing pictures.

I have to say that I couldn't even tell that it was a drone, it was steadier that me and my phone. 😁 I'm glad I ran across your tweet, thanks to Dan. I'll be looking forward to more of your 3Speaks

Posted using Partiko Android

Over a year on with that drone and I'm still shocked and amazed by it.

5 years ago you paid many $1000's for a 4k video camera. That thing is less than $1000 for a FLYING 4k video camera. And I've had cheap tripods that couldn't take pictures as steady as that thing hovering at 50m!

Amazing. What time is it in Israel? It's 9:35 am in San Antonio Texas

Posted using Partiko Android

You may be interested in looking at the Marintraffic live satalite map of the Turkey/Syria border. Based on Google maps, but more detail and less blurring, I think.

Just saw that the Kurds took Ras al Ayn, and the US forces are holding Kobani, but don't see much signs of fighting or shelling. Ruptly hade a livestream up yesterday of Ras al Ayn too.

I wonder where Yael Rosenberg is now, if I remember her name right. Is she back there?

My Valuable Commenting Upvote will start in 3 days, 14 hours and 40 minutes from this comment (at 12:19:58 Friday; October 11, 2019 according to Israeli Summer Time).

So my votes will be flowing sometime after midnight GMT on Wednesday October 16th. I'll be able to upvote good comments left in the prior 6 days I believe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97