Activism In My (Old) Hood

in #threespeak5 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


A group of people, mainly single mothers - many with young children where evicted from a social housing estate by the government. Many of them were either uprooted from London altogether or left to find their own way.

The evictions were apparently to make way for some of those modern residential towers of glass you can now see going up every day in East London. It's part of the general ongoing gentrification of the area.

I ran into this protest on my way to the cafe to do a bit of work on a sunny day and decided to indulge in a little reportage video about it.

There is a longer version I made featuring some known celebs, but I can't find the files :/



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

The things always tend to end up in violence even when originally it wasn't meant to be so really. Some known celeb? Damn I'd have love to see that one really.

Nice sharing

Documenting a protest is an action that serves to understand that we all should and can claim our rights. I hope that it has not ended violently as the protests that are taking place in my country demanding education, health, safety and quality of life. Greetings, @adetorrent, I hope you have had your coffee!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58085.08
ETH 2337.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37