You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Attention diverted to maintain the status quo

in #thoughts5 years ago

This is so broad, I won’t reply to everything but I always like the opportunity to talk about human nature.

I think the biggest lies told are told unknowingly, and are about human nature. Human nature varies dramatically in each individual depending on their understanding of the world and their relationship with it. We tend towards victim mentalities because it’s part of our collective culture and so human nature can be pretty ugly sometimes, lazy, scared selfish. But after overcoming that victim mentality, it looks very different. I guess I need to write a post about this today :-)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

This is so broad

I did warn it was rambly :D

We tend towards victim mentalities because it’s part of our collective culture and so human nature can be pretty ugly sometimes, lazy, scared selfish.

I think that we encourage victimhood and reward it with attention - until we get bored and look for the next person to make our "victim champion" to create a movement around. It is much easier to get attention in social media as a victim than as someone who has skills that add value. In a world that cherrypicks stars from around the globe, it is hard to be special as a normal person in he social media arena. I think that people often feel inadequate and irrelevant in the world we have created, but they also know they beed attention in the economy - it makes for some strange behavior.

You are right! It is rewarded! I think it is rewarded by others who feel like victims which indicated just how widespread and deep victim mentality is.

I believe I became a victim due to learned cultural behaviors and beliefs. I’m trying to stop those in their tracks now!

Also, I enjoy your rambling!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43