Work and Talk: Dropping unnecessary

in #thoughts6 years ago

I am in a constant state of flux and with time being a finite resource, value of my time is important. With the coming addition of employment arrives the need to cutback on some aspects of other time consumers. I am pretty careful with my time spent but also generous with it, including with clients. I am likely too available and accessible.

20181104_095118_001.jpg

Managing my time is pretty critical and going forward becomes more so, which makes wasting my time very costly. A few minutes lost here or there rarely comes with the space to make up for it later so I limit unnecessary quite heavily, entertainment is a big part of the unnecessary, at least at this time. I used to spend a lot of time doing little of consequence.

Of course, my entire life can't just be filled without rest but at this point, the opportunity is available to build a strong foundation to build upon for the future and passing it up for leisure seems like something with a high future cost. Putting the time and effort in now is more likely going to save time, effort and some hardships at a later date.

Every decision we make is an investment position that comes with future consequences, whether it is financial or how we choose to behave in a relationship. All choices can carry both unexpected costs, as well as windfalls and the hope is that there is more improvement in quality of life than degradation. Sometimes what seems so obvious a result, is actually a hard to predict outcome and if one ties themselves to getting that result, they might not notice new information in the system that suggests a change of course.

Expectation of result often dismisses information but, not everything can be known at the time of decision-making. Some people like to behave consistently but for me, I prefer to adapt continually to needs which means that while I make many errors, a better path is rarely far away. While some look for narrow precision, I aim for wide approximation across many points. No perfect, just movement toward improved.

I am getting myself mentally prepared to screw up my schedules as I am going to be introducing a large volume of change in a very short time frame. Worrying about it is part of the unnecessary though, dealing with it is what matters.

While I don't fully know what is involved, I am enjoying the process of mentally preparing for the unknown so when the time arrives to move, I am not far from where I need to be. Screw the FUD though as I will probably only live once so, best make the most of it.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)

Sort:  

Good luck, although I suspect it's not so much to do with luck and think you have the skills to adapt.

I will probably only live once

Probably, but do you know something we don't?

Probably, but do you know something we don't?

I like to have a sense of uncertainty, until proven wrong. The personal discovery is inevitable :D

Not knowing the consequences of decisions , whether positive or negative, is part of what makes life exciting. If you add the luck element even more so because people could make bad decision and have great outcomes due to luck which will make them more likely to continue that behavior until they realize the true consequences without understanding why... Too philosophical for me but I find myself adjusting for more time more and more with multitasking which ultimately I know is unsustainable... Time will tell what is the consequence!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Luck plays a massive part in experience yet is often dismissed, especially by those who have it in their favour.

Time will tell what is the consequence!

The end point for each of us might be the same ... maybe :D

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.257 which ranks you at #224 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 7 places in the last three days (old rank 231).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #13.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Just remember to look back from a forward projection too :) I do understand you wanting to build strong foundations and all the other things but it won't do you much good if you're neglecting yourself and the people you're doing it for so much that you don't even get to enjoy the future you're building.

I know you're probably finding some way to keep balance :)

You got a 59.65% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78