Waking up from useless

in #thoughts5 years ago

As Christmas is midweek, I now have 9 straight days off from work, and I am looking forward to them. 2019 has been difficult, but 2020 is shaping up to be spectacular.

IMG_20191220_212643.jpg

Well...

Not really.

 
However, I am hoping that I am able to regain some work for my own business, take advantage of some potential openings as an employee and of course, get my crypto game face on and start realising some of the value to improve my life.

Then, there is is the obligatory get into shape stretch goal.

 
What I am enjoying seeing at the moment is the price of STEEM rising consistently the last couple of weeks in a way that reminds me a little of early 2017. People might kit remember how fast crypro can move under the right conditions and Steem went from 6 cents to 2+ dollars in the space of a couple months. Those types of gains are unsustainable of course, but in time the bottom will lift to be a little higher from the cold, hard rock.

I am in no rush to sell what I hold, but with a bit of it did hit a dollar or two, I am considering taking a little to cover the cost of a new laptop or to make a space for my desktop suitable for usage. I don't really know what it feels like to sell into fiat, as I have never done it - perhaps 2020 is the year.

Of course ideally, I wouldn't need to sell any principle at all and can instead use the curation amounts for life improvement activities. I think it would be great to use it for luxury things, nothing fancy, just a nice dinner here and there, or perhaps a gift for my family occasionally. I think I have put in a fair amount of effort on and off the platform to get to this point and at some point, the energy has to transform into something personally useful.

I am looking five or ten years into the future for anything remotely life changing and that requires persistence, patience and survival, but I think enjoying a little more of the milestones along the journey would help me understand and experience in a different way. It'd probably help many.

It is funny how many take Steem very seriously when it comes to the outrage and arguments, but often the behaviors do not match the words. I don't mean all content needs to be serious or anything like that, just that people could take the potential of the platform more seriously, rather than just getting emotionally triggered by insignificant evenys or transient conditions.

Emotions themselves are like clouds that come and go, yet acting as if every storm will be the apocalypse seems to be the norm. There is so much stress generated online over such ridiculous things.

It is funny these days as I barely see any news yet people constantly gossip about various things. When they mention the drama of the hour and I say I haven't heard, they think that I am an idiot. Spending time discussing what the mainstream media feeds us is about as useless an activity as can be. It isn't even enjoyable.

I think many people feel they have to spend their time on irrelevant in order to feel worldly and knowledgeable. I wonder how much MSM Da Vinci or Einstein would consume if alive today, and if they consumed a lot, would they become the world changers we know them as?

I think that what we are fed is an unpaid occupation, as it takes up our time but doesn't deliver anywjere near the value it delivers those we are working for. We work for whoever can attract our attention, as that is where we spend our time and energy resources.

Yep, I do this on Steem and many can believe that this is a waste of time also, I just don't. For me, I do see a massive amount of value being generated here daily as it gives a space for learning to take place as well as encourages investigation of the systems we are programmed to attend to, to spend our time on. If we pay attention to what we have been paying our attention to, we will likely find that a lot of it is busy work fed to us to take our time away from looking deeper and discovering that we can do better than we are, but change is needed.

Personal change. The problem off living the unexamined life is that one feels like what is being done matters, without realising it is but a dream.

The dreamer isnt idealistic and works to change the world, the dreamer is the person who believes change isn't possible.

 
We have 2 million years of human evolution behind us to prove that change happens and we have the power to influence the direction. For better or worse, that is our lot in this universe, even if many of us choose to sleep through life.

Is where you are paying your attention an investment for life improvement, or a distraction from it?

 
Bring on 2020.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Onboarding

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55528.94
ETH 2373.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36