Travel with me

in #thoughts6 years ago

These are images of sunrise along my drive to work. I would love to get out with a proper camera but I just don't have the time. A friend of mine bought a new setup yesterday and was telling me about it add it made me a little itchy to go and have a look at an upgrade but I just couldn't justify it so, will stay away.

In my session this morning we had a look at the idea of buying things versus experiences and how I see condition of most media as a purchase of things. Time is money afterall and even utilizes the same vocabulary; spend, save, waste etc.

With our time we can use it to buy active experience or purchase passive items. My student estimated that he consumers 1 hour of news per day and I calculated that over the last 30 years that is 11,000 hours or, 460 full 24 hour days. 1.5 years. Or 4.5 years of 8 hour days. What has he got to show for his time investment?

There is a rough idea about 10,000 hours to become a master of a skill but it doesn't take anywhere near that long to be pretty good at something. Yet, we are trained consumers of things rather than active searchers of experiences.

Think about all the people who watch Dancing with the Stars, or Voice. All the people watching engineered reality television. The news. The latest shows. What have they invested their time in?

People worry about losing money as if that is the most important thing to lose yet, they invest and lose their time daily. Lose the time of their lives. Lose life itself while sitting passively consuming a false view of the world. What is the reward, what is the payoff? Is there a ROI at all for the massive amount of life they have put into consuming?

Don't watch people dance, Dance. Don't watch people sing, Sing. Don't watch the lives of others, Live.

It is your life. Your payoff or loss as the case may be.

20190124_084751.jpg
20190124_085110.jpg
20190124_090226.jpg
20190124_091322.jpg
20190124_091041.jpg
20190124_091123.jpg

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)

That was my break. Off to job two.

Sort:  

What a wonderful and wonderful place I want to sit and drink coffee in such places

What a specific dream, love it! Peace.

It is -16C. Good luck :)

Yeah, bring your jacket. It's minus 16 degrees. 😉

'Travel with me'

Talkin' 'bout "stars"... Damn, I thought I started following @sweetsssj by accident.

Lolol... I should rename it ;D

Happened to me too, lol!

Well, the pics above prove this post couldn't be hers. Way too cold for her ...

I agree if we look at time spent doing rubbish we will get a fright. People are just tossing their lives away and can't see it. I suppose we can say something only after Steem does something. I haven't counted the hours on here yet but at least I am learning some skills (hopefully).

I suppose we can say something only after Steem does something. I haven't counted the hours on here yet but at least I am learning some skills (hopefully).

If we learn something and it goes to zero, we have learned something at least. I don't think it will go to zero so we will have learned and earned something :)

Agreed as time is one of the resources we can never get back! However, I enjoy downtime as an experience mostly with the family. While I am conscious of my wasted time, I have blessed to be able to “afford it” in the short term.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Downtime is different to time wasted yet people get the two confused. Downtime is time away from uptime, something that not many people seem to have so much of anymore.

Your posts give so much to think about... Time is actually not money. It's more than money. Money can be earned but time wasted is... gone. Forever. I find this idea quite disturbing...

It is disturbing indeed and the older one gets, the less time to live. Many people worry about an afterlife without thinking whether they have lived a life to have an after from.

oh man!
These are beautiful.
Oneday i will rise there 😍

Nice caption. It looks so clear and

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 230000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 240000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@tarazkp woder full pic budy 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58