Taking ownership of life itself

in #thoughts5 years ago

Back on the train heading toward home to meet my wife and the doctor's office. Our daughter has had a cough that has stopped her sleeping through the night for over two weeks. This is relatively normal for her but last night she was having trouble breathing too, so back to the doctor.

I really hope that when she does grow up she has some superpower that compensates for her childhood. I suspect she won't though, we aren't a superhero kind of family.

Not that the lack of superpowers should stop is anyway as regardless of the skills or situation we may have, we all have an equal opportunity to do our best with the resources we possess. While people concern themselves with what they can buy, the more valuable metric is what one can do.

I personally am an opponent of the idea of what we do defines us as our behaviour can change drastically depending on experience
But when it comes to directing personal development, the only thing we can take ownership of is or skillset and, that can't be bought no matter how much money one has.

On top of that, do you want to pay for all services. Are you willing to pay someone to sleep with your wife because they are better in bed than you? If so, I take Steem.

Obviously there are some things that we want to take ownership of, even though we might not be the best at it ourselves, yet we don't always want to improve ourselves in these areas.

For Steem, I have thought about this quite a lot as I have had to adjust various things over time myself and, I have helped some people get a better understanding of the ways they could improve their results, whether it be quality and type of content, engagement levels or overall earning. Some experiment with change and some don't and instead say, I am going to do ad I please.

This is the beauty of Steem because everyone can do as they please depending on the resources available to them. However, if one has a specific result in mind, what one does is going to affect reaching the destination or missing the mark. Doing what one pleases doesn't necessarily take into consideration what is required to get there or what will successfully negotiate the obstacles that can get in the way.

Our experience of this world is our own and own means ownership. While there are many factors that can influence and obscure our view, the responsibility of how we understand and negotiate our lives is fundamentally upon our own heads. While it is tempting to blame the people who place the hurdles in our way, how we face those hurdles is something only we can choose. Most don't face hurdles, they use them as excuses and say that the conditions are not under their control therefore there is nothing to be done.

This is an act of avoidance as there is always something that can be done, there is always something available to be learned. It isn't always a comfortable lesson of course but comfort and value rarely go hand in hand and the most valuable experiences we have likely had have been those in the negative, the ones that have shaped us and developed our understanding.

Some of course get bitter from experiences of adversity and hardship, others become
empowered. As my daughter grows I am hoping to be able to help her build the understanding that experience is always empowering, no matter if it is negative or positive, as it is all a process of understanding development. At this point, it looks likely that she is going to face some ongoing health issues so having the understanding that these conditions can be leveraged to help her be her ultimate best is also likely to help her feel her fulfilled best.

Rather than a life of excuse where the outlook is, If only conditions were better..., she can learn to own her experience and therefore have the best chance of influencing her world in whichever ways she chooses.

Self-direction, responsibility and ownership of experience is freedom. It doesn't come through perfect conditions, it comes through the understanding that adversity is just a different set of rules so actions must change, behaviours adapt and the game can still be played to its best and life lived to its fullest.

Living a good life doesn't necessarily mean, living an easy life.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)

Sort:  

Adversity leads to strength and resilience which are key factors for success! The fact that we can lay claim to that and what we create is a good foundation to leverage one’s freedom.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am hoping that he is able to build the understanding required as for me, it took way too long to get it.

I had a cough and sore throat for about two months and it wouldn't go away @tarazkp but it turned out to just be allergies, and the sore throat came from "Post-Nasal Drip", even though I wasn't aware of it and didn't feel anything in my nose.

Now I use a nose spray and feel much better. I hope your daughter can also find a similar solution.. it might just be allergies.

These allergies that I have now came almost out of nowhere, and I hadn't experienced it until now, even though I am 33 years old.


Back to the last post you mentioned about improving your weaknesses, I eventually realized and actually remembered, that everyone is different.

It seems like you lean towards a more Turbulent personality type (i.e. Steve Jobs was an extreme Turbulent) but I function much better as an assertive type.

The strengths I have include calmness, and the ability to not get "worked up" about things, but I lack the Industrious nature of Turbulent personalities.

P.S. My wife leans more toward a Turbulent personality, and I lean toward an Assertive personality type - It works out well 😊👍

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Now I use a nose spray and feel much better. I hope your daughter can also find a similar solution.. it might just be allergies.

She has had food allergies 2.5 years (whole life) and she has medication for it.

It seems like you lean towards a more Turbulent personality type (i.e. Steve Jobs was an extreme Turbulent) but I function much better as an assertive type.

You can put me into whatever categories but it will only hold true in narrow circumstances because I tend to adapt quite readily to what is required in the moment.

She has had food allergies 2.5 years (whole life) and she has medication for it.

I didn't know your daughter was only 2 1/2 years old. My son, @zaclucasrice is 18 months old 😊

You can put me into whatever categories but it will only hold true in narrow circumstances because I tend to adapt quite readily to what is required in the moment.

I use categories to describe you in an effort to understand you. I like trying to understand other people and myself.

Personality theories like the one from 16 Personalities has it's flaws, and it doesn't work for everyone but it personally helped me understand myself and @emaferice really well.

I feel like I understand you better than I otherwise would if I hadn't spent a lot of time getting to know myself and @emaferice.

The tendency to feel like you have to improve, excel and fix things about yourself is a Turbulent trait, but a tendency to feel comfortable with yourself and confident as you are is a more Assertive trait.

Nobody is 100% Turbulent or 100% Assertive but I think you tend to lean more towards a Turbulent personality than me, and that is why we had disagreements about whether or not we should focus on fixing our flaws.

I hope this comment adds value to your life and gives you some insight into some of my thoughts @tarazkp I am also a follower of @galenkp and I enjoy both of your posts👍😊

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

I remember in Shotokan Karate they have a saying: Don't pray for an easy life, pray to be strong.

Posted using Partiko Android

Everyone wants opportunity until they realize the cost.

Being ill when you are young gives you a stronger immune system when you are older. So there is always that. In terms of doing as you please, do you think the introduction of ads will/would change this? Censorship for example?

I have written some articles about censorship due to advertising revenue but at the end of the day, there will be multiple interfaces and not all will include advertising as it isn't forced at the blockchain level. There might be tradeoffs in options perhaps but, there are possibilities to avoid advertising.

That's the beauty of this platform

This is really great. Living a great life does not really means living an easy life

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94