Sunday bloody selfie

in #thoughts5 years ago

I don't get to really sleep in ever but today at least I got to lay in bed and chat with @smallsteps for half an hour before getting up to start the chores. She is a funny one and is growing up so fast it is incredible.

I think every parent likely feels this in some way but, I feel like I have missed her baby years because there have just been so many things to take care of to make sure we survive, in some cases, quite literally concerning health. The image of a lazy Sunday breakfast together as seen on TV has never become a reality.

Yet, who am I to complain, these are the cards as we play them the best we can.

As far as she is concerned though it is my duty to put her well-being ahead of my own as it was my choice to bring her into the world, not hers. None of us have the choice to enter and, none of us have a choice of when, where or to who we are born tired to. It is funny how many people get attached to things they had no control over like race, country or upbringing.

My goal is that my daughter grows to be unattached as possible to these kinds of things and instead be aware of influences but focus more on the things she can control. While people spend their time worrying and arguing over what the news tells them to worry as argue over, she can spend her time doing what she can in areas she chooses to spend her time on.

I don't think most people really admit how controlled their behaviours are by others, we all feel we are intelligent enough to see the scam. This is why conartists are so successful because they know we think we wouldn't can for their con. People watch the news and think they are smart enough to know the truth and then go out into the world spouting their truth, arguing, polarising. Like good puppets.

I don't want a life of false understanding and manipulated behaviour for my daughter, but that eventual choice will be up to her. All I can really do is help her develop a better toolkit to deal with the world, an internal locus of control and a sensitive awareness of the external environment.

The other day when I was having my treatment at the hospital, the nurse asked me how @smallsteps is going and I told her what she gets up to and how she is progressing. At the end the nurse said that I make her feel like a bad mother. That is silly as, I didn't make her feel anything. Her feelings arose because of the comparisons of her actions to that of another and how she recognizes that she is lacking in her behaviour. This might not actually true at all, but that is how she feels.

Does it matter though? I wonder if the average child sits in front of screens, has organized entertainment and very little self-directed creative pursuits, it will just be the new average set of personality and behaviour, much like the average body size and weight now would have been considered overweight and unhealthy a couple decades ago. The new average doesn't mean a better position, just a plot on a normal distribution curve.

Perhaps my daughter will be seen as an outlier in some categories but, whether that is a positive or negative is yet unknown. In many ways, doing what the average is doing is a smart move because then the probability of being in the middle is higher and, there is safety in numbers. People like security, especially when it comes to the future of their children so raising them to fit in is many parent's goal.

While we are not raising our daughter with the intention she will stand out, I am hoping that she will at least have the chance to discover herself without being told what she is neat to think, do and be.

We all claim individuality yet, we act like others, we think like others and we even apply arbitrary labels to ourselves to fit into a defined group of others. And, we can think we choose this ourselves - Puppets.

The world is changing, average is not going to cut it for most to have a chance at freedom unless, there are some exceptional people out there able to do what others have not and cannot. The children are our future but the future looks bleak of we raise them to be like us.

Oh, I think after 2500+ posts, this is my first selfie. I am becoming the average.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)

Sort:  

I have been blessed to take advice from friends early on and feel that I have experienced 95% of my daughters growth and progression as I have always put her first. While I have yet to really push for that individuality, I feel she has a sense of innocence that the outside has yet to influence on but the challenges are only beginning as she now goes to drop off birthday parties where the environment is no longer controlled by us as Parents. We can only hope to remain the example to guide her in the process at this point.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have been blessed to take advice from friends early on and feel that I have experienced 95% of my daughters growth and progression as I have always put her first.

I feel I have missed a lot of it because of the same reason :D Different conditions of course.

We can only hope to remain the example to guide her in the process at this point.

This is the thing, set up mental models and then hope they fire at the right time and place.

Well I was going to skip this one based on the title :P

Glad I didn't though, and I think @smallsteps could well be an outlier in some categories, like awesomeness.

Enjoy your Sunday.

She is definitely far out on the awesomeness scale. It has been tested.

Every parent wants the best for his children, he knows how to educate properly, but unfortunately this is not always possible. There are many reasons from the outside that are independent of us. Good that you are thinking in the right direction.

Right or wrong direction who knows but at least it isn't life lived on auto pilot through mob rule :)

I don't think most people really admit how controlled their behaviours are by others, we all feel we are intelligent enough to see the scam. This is why conartists are so successful because they know we think we wouldn't can for their con. People watch the news and think they are smart enough to know the truth and then go out into the world spouting their truth, arguing, polarising. Like good puppets.

Exactly.

I don't want a life of false understanding and manipulated behaviour for my daughter, but that eventual choice will be up to her. All I can really do is help her develop a better toolkit to deal with the world, an internal locus of control and a sensitive awareness of the external environment.

There are very few things more valuable than an internal locus of control. Not having is like having a broken rudder in your boat, forcing you to join a convoy of towed boats.

The world is changing, average is not going to cut it for most to have a chance at freedom unless, there are some exceptional people out there able to do what others have not and cannot. The children are our future but the future looks bleak of we raise them to be like us.

Accelerating technological change is happening at such a pace that opportunities for being an early adopter and reaping substantial benefits from that are increasing. Anyone who can sensibly pick the things to get into stands to benefit a lot. Blockchains using a scalable consensus mechanism such as DPoS have a pretty solid chance of growing orders of magnitude larger than they are now.

What this means is that keeping your distance to the herd, as it were, and looking out for novelties with potential is something you get paid for. The benefits of being a security conscious follower are diminishing. I wonder how that will play out given the psychological makeup of the average person.

I wonder how that will play out given the psychological makeup of the average person.

It is going to be more herd mentality that will complain about the world while the outliers have opportunity. It isn't fair, will be the cry. Just as it always has been. Parents have a responsibility to prepare children for the future, not the past or the present environment as that is where they will be making their decisions.

And, we can think we choose this ourselves - Puppets.

You think determinism is a logical position for a human being to take?

That is a weird tangent to ask about.

lol - yeah - it is, somewhat, isn't it..?..lol

I was putting together some things for a bite size philosophy, and determinism was the subject in hand...

..then I read your post, and that sentence jumped out at me, it must still have been ticking away in the back of the cranium...

It is a very 'determinsm' y, kind of sentence, though.

Determinism has about the same philosophical benefits for human mental health , as mosquito's do for human physical health.
(malaria is way more preferable though...)

It's definitely the first selfie you've taken since I've been reading your blog what a day to be alive, finally the face behind the persona

haha, my face is snuck in around the place but I try to keep it to a minimum for obvious reasons :D

Hahahaha well then all hail batman haha,

Cuteness is really an understatement for your daughter

You want the best for your daughter as would any parent. Yet our behaviors are controlled and manipulated. Nice to see an updated photo of you my friend @tarazkp

Your daughter is a lucky one, so am I - have seen 2 selfies already after reading like 5 of your posts. Last time it was a leg, and now your body parts are almost complete.
Your prolific thinking shows how vital the parents’ role is in someone’s growth. It’s amazing that I didn’t get bored by this long post but read through till the end. I’d say this inspiring piece saves you from the average selfie 🤳 person... ;)
And there’s always real communication under your posts. So “the beauty of Steem” (no one really cares about what we write, so just post whatever shit ;p) doesn’t apply here, wow.

raising them to fit in is many parent's goal.

I wouldn't know how to do that as I don't fit in XD I feel like my kids are going out of their way to be average and fit in to compensate. It kind of annoys me but all I can do is provide as many opportunities as I can and sometimes shove them if I think I need to, everything else is up to them though. I know my parents tried really, really hard to make me fit in but unfortunately I'm too defective even to this day XD

The baby days are so comparatively short they're really easy to miss even though at the time it feels like the difficulty and insanity will never ever end no matter what people say. I feel like I missed a lot of my youngest's first year as well, but it was for completely different reasons. Hopefully you got lots of photos to help trigger memories :)

I'm trying to pick a favourite out of this set and I can't really. The last two are entirely too precious XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88