Running up hills and flying down

in #thoughts5 years ago

A friend of mine in Sweden was telling me a story of his daughter who wanted a puppy. They were driving to a ski slope (in the summer) so he could off-season train by running up it. His daughter has a lot of confidence in her abilities and said, "if I beat you to the top, I get a dog" and her father said, "you can get two dogs". He added, "I won't wait, I have to train"

She was excited.

From the get go she went balls out and after 50 metres was destroyed. My friend ran to the top and then back down where his daughter was crying. Not from losing but because her lungs and throat burned and her heart "was going to explode".

Her dad said, "When you are at soccer practice and say you are tired, you aren't. Now you are tired. Now you know the feeling of giving your all."

While he ran several times more, his daughter recovered quickly and continued on at her own pace to the top.

While they still don't have a dog, at some point she will be able to outrun her dad.

20_MARCH_16_siilinkari walk-31.jpg

Today for me, it is filled with training deliveries and catching up on what I have missed since I have been out of the office a full week on assignment. They are webinars today which is both easier to deliver, and harder as there is no immediate feedback. I have only delivered one so far and am still learning.

There are a lot of things going on in my life at the moment both on the work and personal fronts and time is a previous resource. The time I do have spare I spend with my daughter playing and being silly wherever we happen to be.

What is interesting for me is that much like my friend's daughter, it wasn't so long ago I had no idea what I was capable of when it came to volume of effort in. I only thought I was tired, it wasn't the reality.

The second interesting thing is that as my work volume over the last 6 years has skyrocketed, it has actually become somewhat easier, the units of work cheaper to produce. This is probably because as my work increased and diversified, so did my skill set a date skills compound against each other to create higher return for energy in. The best way to save time is to improve your skills in that area, not avoid them.

Most people focus on the parts of life they enjoy meaning that when it comes to skill development, they are lacking in areas they don't like but need. Then, they wonder why they aren't getting the results they want.

From my perspective, it is beneficial for me to learn wide and far without drilling too deeply into a skillset unless required, even if I enjoy it. Doing what you enjoy is the recommendation but people use it as an excuse to avoid what they don't, even when the cost of avoidance created more problems than the gain from the enjoyment.

There are opportunities everywhere to learn but of course, if one knows themselves well enough, choosing the source and methods can be optimized to enhance the process and speed of uptake. Again, many people have avoided taking the responsibility of their own learning and instead use their lack of skill as a demonstration that it is actually someone else's fault.

The thing is, no one can get a skill for you. Of course, some people like to live their life vicariously, live life via proxy and feel that they have value because they surround themselves and engage with people who are actually doing something - even if they aren't doing anything themselves.

We all have hills to climb in life and we can all tackle them out own way and at our own pace. There are also many people sitting at the base talking about all the reasons they aren't going to start. Starting isn't hard to do, unless you think it is.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone in the cafeteria)

Sort:  

So often your posts seem to come with amazing timing. This is a lesson I'm trying to teach my youngest at the moment. She can expend more effort on sabotaging herself than it would take to accomplish something positive.

Posted using Partiko Android

She can expend more effort on sabotaging herself than it would take to accomplish something positive.

I think that this is the M-O. of many of us these days unfortunately.

I'm sweating just hearing that story.
I'm blown away by some of the coding talent we have here. When I look at Yaba's work on Steemmonsters I can't even comprehend how much intellect and self-discipline it took to get to that level of competence.
I love that this is a place which rewards that.

I love that this is a place which rewards that.

It is only going to get better at it over time too. Many people look at the mechanisms of reward here as broken but they are likely much better as the place decentralizes, even without too much change.

You got a 63.96% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 60 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

One must give it their all to see their true potential. Stress often challenges us and grows us to new heights. We are winded but it is a good wind. Thanks @tarazkp

Stress often challenges us and grows us to new heights.

Stress is only dangerous for those who think it is dangerous.

personal fronts and time is a previous resource

previous - precious? typo matey?
(I'm not being pedantic about it , just letting you know if you wanted to edit it...)

Again, many people have avoided taking the responsibility of their own learning and instead use their lack of skill as a demonstration that it is actually someone else's fault.

Ain't that the truth!
Avoidance is a bad human habit, and one very difficult to see in oneself, unless being brutally honest.
Avoidance is so easily achieved.
For me - it was working 80 hours week and living partying hard - making it easy put off looking at 'Me'.
Honesty is a good human habit, but it can be difficult to implement when avoidance has been the 'plat de jour' for long periods of time.

Starting isn't hard to do, unless you think it is.

Exactly, matey.
So true.

I write a lot on my phone these days unfortunately so typos are common.

Avoidance comes in many forms and everyone can justify it in some way that makes sense to themselves, even if it is illogical to all others.

....is that a 'thanks for pointing out' for me - , or a ' no need to point it out'?

I sometimes go back in the evening and edit the changes. I write at the bottom (posted from phone) as a warning for it. Typos are typos, this is the internet :)

It is really amazing what the body can do with some conditioning we provide it. Not always the best sort of it but useful nonetheless!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.288 which ranks you at #222 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 325 contributions, your post is ranked at #7.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Dear @tarazkp

APPICS is a next-generation social media app that rewards you for posting pictures and videos online!

I'd like to invite you to our fully functional testnet for iOS and Android, where you can simply login with your steemit account and start getting rewarded for your passion .

If you are on iOS, please visit https://ios.appics.com and download the app from there. If you are on Android, please send us an email to [email protected] from your google play store email address so that we can invite you exclusively!

Team APPICS

Visit our Website: https://appics.com/

Join us on Telegram: https://t.me/appics_official

No love from the mack-bot :(

I think the problem is they are automated and they aren't replying so much to the questions. Dunno though.

partiko suffered a similar wrath so at least auto messages are being treated equally. Wallet spam seems the safest way to go, but I find that more frustrating and annoying for the most part.

Perhaps like the new market place, apps could get/pay for some advertising space on the feed pages. A couple apps that rotate on page change to support growth.

Alternatively, an option for users to add a banner at the bottom of the page.

@andrarchy ^

On a side note, it is a bit annoying because I am already using @appics

I think adverts are coming shortly to pages when you are logged in, so would the likes of Appics have to compete for a place like everyone else?

Potentially the reason for the clamp down on this form of advertising?

Perhaps that is why the camp down but, I think that when 'real advertising' comes, people will not take too kindly to comment spam anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59239.80
ETH 2662.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48