Lost posts and rushed words

in #thoughts6 years ago

Pffft. How annoying. I was just tagging a post I wrote and the browser decided to restart without warning.... I have spent the last hour writing while my daughter is taking her nap and now don't have time for a do-over. Meh, such is life and it will go on.

Now I probably have a maximum of 10 minutes to write before she wakes up and we spend the rest of the day together. My wife is off studying again, as is the norm for the weekends. I will be glad when her studies eventually finish and we can spend time together as a family but again, such is life.

A decent part of my approach to living at the moment is to create enough space for us to be able to spend time together without having to arrange schedules for it. At the moment, it is kind of like we need to book weeks ahead if we are going to spend time with all three of us, without having to rush off to here or there.

I am in two minds about it though as I also think that people over-emphasise the time required to spend with family but underestimate the quality requirements of time spent. As I see it, the time spent should be with presence, not just passing time. For example this morning, my daughter and I spent time making words with magnetic letters on the couch and she loved sitting there just the two of us sorting through the letters and spelling them out on the board. You can see the smile in her eyes. It is never time wasted when there is that smile in the eyes of a child.

The last few days she has been in a very good mood which is likely because she hasn't had any food allergy reactions in the last week or so. The reactions tend to be painful and also drains her energy so when she has a chance to be clear for a bit, she gets pretty enthusiastic about living life. After she wakes up from her nap, I am going to leverage her excitement and get her to help clean the house. It sounds cruel but, she loves cleaning to the point I am worried she is going to have an OCD issue.

Well, the call of "Daddy" has arrived which is my cue to stop writing. See you in the evening with perhaps a version 2 of what I was going to post before it was lost.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]


View this post on Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Sort:  

Family is about giving time and understanding each other values...glad you maintain the balance by knowing what times requires more. Spending quality time with family is more important. We are not doing any formality by just showing our presence in the family but making sure to take part and devote quality time to make your presence felt...especially when it comes to have with the kids....

Posted using Partiko Android

These days I think it is easy to pass off time spent as quality without evaluating it well. Life is now filled with engineered distraction.

Full attention in the times together is certainly key... and true that many just count time in the same room as spending time.
Kids want and deserve un-divided attention.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I agree and I think that it is getting harder for people to give undivided attention as 'normal life' these days is essentially splitting our attention by design.

I lost one a few days ago. Totally my fault. I was writing it on my phone using Busy and it warned me several times to Save it. I put a link to a trailer in. The last thing I needed to do. Literally the last thing and boom...crashed and refreshed. Everything lost. About 45 minutes wasted on that one. Annoying but life goes on. Lol

Yeah it happens from time to time, maybe it was kismet today ;)

It’s happened to me several times now and I keep making the same error. Not so smart it seems.

It used to be common once upon a time so I drafted in wordpress.

Smart. I’m starting to write it up in other places. ESteem does a nice job of saving it I’ve noticed.

You should check out Busy.org
It keeps a draft the very second you start typing. You can close the browsers, log out, restart your computer and come back to your post at a later time. It's awesome.

I use several interfaces including busy but normally I write into wordpress which saves everything. I like to have backups and Busy can only save a couple at most.

It sounds cruel but, she loves cleaning to the point I am worried she is going to have an OCD issue.

What is it OCD?

I am glad that I have not had any more allergic reactions ... It is really wonderful to see our children laugh, I melt when my little girl laughs ... and makes me laugh with every occurrence, it makes my life happy. :)
My big girl likes to help in the kitchen, she likes to cook, but when I tell her to help me clean ... it's as if she named a monster ... she gets all the excuses to clean ... :(

obsessive compulsive disorder.

She is so full of energy lately =)

It grind my gears also when you are writing a nice post and them, the internet or energy blink and you lost everything, even now that my PC doesn't have battery since it gone and I need to change.
Playing with kids is a thing that I like, since they have a lovely imagination, and the make me continue to be mine active.
Thanks for sharing.
Cheers!

Kids are good value because they make us think too :)

While its awful that you lost the work, it is great you make the priority to spend time with her. Look forward to your next one as usual!

Posted using Partiko iOS

None of it is so important it can't be lost so, I move on pretty quickly :)

Enjoy the day with your little lady! If I may ask, what is her food allergy? I am allergic to gluten and if I consume any I’m drained for a whole day. Her symptoms sound similar.

Looking forward to your evening post!

grains, dairy, some meats, most fruits, some vegetables, nuts, seeds.... there are many.

as I also think that people over-emphasise the time required to spend with family but underestimate the quality requirements of time spent. As I see it, the time spent should be with presence, not just passing time

Being present for our kids is so important. Putting our mobiles down. Screens away from faces for ma and pa as well as the kids.

There's quite a good reminder being aired by the BBC here in the UK at the moment that speaks to this quite powerfully:

Posted using Partiko Android

Screens are a curse to strong relationship building and it is only getting worse. I think there is a small minority shifting away and returning to face to face communication though. I think there is going to be a class gap based on it.

I loose my work at least 3 times a week LOL. Might be a good thing for the Steem platform

Good to hear that the allergie reaction has been weeks, maybe she is starting to grow out of it.

I would not worrie about OCD with helping out because you still have the teenage years comming where your uninformed or just plainly stupid. LOL enjoy this time

I am hoping she is starting to grow out of it but it is more likely that we just haven't trialled much lately. She is going to be a terror as a teenager I think, at least in conversation. =)

She has a big heart and is very inquisitive. That will serve her well years to come. I must say you spend some good quality time with her. Nothing more important then that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63483.25
ETH 2601.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81