Did she see me?

in #thoughts6 years ago

The benefit of being anonymous on the internet is that it drastically reduces accountability for what is said which means people can be brave or, crueler than they might be otherwise. After all, on the internet, no one knows you are a dog.

Having said that, I am not anonymous, I don't hide, I am accountable for my words and actions and the one the standard I hold myself to, doesn't even have the ability to read yet, but it won't be long.

As I see it, one day my daughter is going to have access to my words here, she is going to read my articles, murder stories and love poems. She will have be able to follow conversations and relationships and see how I treat people, treat the platform and of course, get a sense of who I was during various stages of my life journey.

Her view of her father may change significantly once she deep dives or, she might have no conflict between what I wrote and how she has learned to know me. She might recognise her father in the text, no matter what it says.

My hope is that if she does ever choose to read this long and labour intensive chapter of my life she will see the starting point and be able to follow the breadcrumbs to whatever the future will hold. She will trace the origins of me, her mother and ultimately herself as knowing me better helps her better understand who she is as inevitably and perhaps unfortunately, I am likely going to be one of her role models in life.

At this point, I am not embarrassed or ashamed by my thoughts placed on this Blockchain but in two decades from now in a changed world, who knows how my thoughts will appear to her. Will they be like bad fashion choices seen in old photos or, poor cultural programming like the behaviours of racist grandparents before political correctness forced self-censoring?

I can't say what will come of it all but with something like 20 full-length novels of my thoughts written on this Blockchain, there is a lot of room to look very, very stupid in the eyes of perhaps the only person I don't ever want to look stupid in front of. Silly, funny, old-fashioned, out of date, lame... They are fine.

I wonder if like a teenage being kissed goodbye from a parent in front of friends, when she read this she will be embarrassed by me. At least, I hope it helps her get perspective add build understanding in a way that makes her life a little better.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)

Sort:  

If I were your daughter I would just smile at the little insights in my own young life and be immensely grateful for the huge collection of thoughts and memories I would be able to keep from my father.

I once gave my mother a book where she could fill in answers on specific and sometimes intimate questions, paste old photos and such. It's probably my greatest treasure in life.

I once gave my mother a book where she could fill in answers on specific and sometimes intimate questions, paste old photos and such. It's probably my greatest treasure in life.

I would love to have something like that but unfortunately I didn't have the foresight at the time to consider it.

I'm sure she'll be proud of you and your efforts whether they be novels poems or mere breadcrumbs. Thanks for sharing. @tatazkp

I don't worry too much about her being proud of me as I don't consider pride a very worthy feeling. However, I hope she does get a better understanding.

In a way your writings here are like open letter to her future self. I love that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Early on I realised that it was the way it was going to be. Before she was born I wrote a letter to her that I put here for longevity a while ago.

https://steemit.com/forthechildren/@tarazkp/the-endless-conversation-for-my-daughter-part-one-of-six

Thanks for pointing me to this post. Would be interesting to read what her first reply to you will be.

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting idea, Taraz
I believe that it is never necessary
to do something that can be a shame not only
you, but also your children.

I am sure that you have good thoughts and a daughter
be proud of his father.

Wish you success and new achievements in your life!

While I might not be ashamed, future history might not treat my thoughts well :)

This is brave statement!! congrats

Still catching up on my feed and saw this which was totally aligned with my earlier comment! Perspective is always a great think to have no matter where or the time as it builds and understanding of the situations that create actions.

Posted using Partiko iOS

One of the reasons I post under my own name. Too many anonymous posters are going to get a rude shock down the line, when their real and online personas inevitably collide.
The chain is forever and its only a matter of time before AI compares writing styles, and starts calling people out.

Brah, it's not what you say that you have to worry about...It's the photos I have that one day @smallsteps will see! 🤣🤣

Just kidding. (Not) 😋

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.282 which ranks you at #223 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 224 contributions, your post is ranked at #13.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76