You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Boom, Bust and Replacement of the global economy

in #thoughts5 years ago

Nice post.

While I agree that digital and decentralized economies will help to smooth the boom/bust cycles, boom/bust is never gonna go away.

Why?

Human Nature.

Yes, emotions are irrational, but the reason there is a boom/bust economy is that people use there emotions to make decisions about value and take action based on those irrational emotions. Short of a centrally controlled economy, I don't see how this can be totally eliminated.

Don't get me wrong. I agree that decentralized/digital economies will help smooth out the boom/bust effects, but they're still gonna be there.

To me, that is actually a good thing, as anything that takes away our ability to value freely takes away our humanity.

I think boom/bust is normal. I don't think that the current magnitude of it is though. I think it's magnitude will indeed smooth with decentralized economies.

Sort:  

They will be there but spread more widely I think so that one fail doesn't decimate all others.

When it comes to the mechanisms of failure, the bank created debt and inflation can be better managed.

Yeah. I realize now that my comment might have come off as supporting centralization or being sympathetic to it :-0 That is not the case at all.

Take away the centralized control of the markets and people will become much more interested in controlling their own fate and probably do a better job.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60313.79
ETH 2889.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47