Where did society go wrong?

in #thoughts8 years ago

So I was just thinking about this the other day...

Monday to Friday, I work between 40 and 50 hours a week in recruitment. I earn a very small wage and commissions for every placement I have for finding work for someone. I get up, get to work, interview people, cold call for new clients, design role briefs for clients, send invoices, have brainstorming sessions and think about how we can get a better result. After work I go to the gym, 5 nights a week, because I don't get a lot of exercise in my job.

When I get home, and when I am at home on weekends, all I am doing is thinking about ways of being able to live as part of society without having to work. I've worked as a salesperson, travel agent, property manager, personal trainer, ran my own recruitment business that I lost to a business partner, and a factory hand, and no matter what I've done for work, I just find myself wondering why I am working just to be able to do what I want to do; or to add fuel to the anxious fire, just be able to keep a roof over my head.

During all the interviews I conduct as a recruitment agent, it seems that almost everyone who I speak to is in the same boat. They don't ever want to work. Even if they sell themselves speaking about how much they love to work, the personality profiling tells different. Everyone is working to live.

That wage that we earn every week isn't because we genuinely love spending hours every week in an office cubicle, a supermarket, a factory, or in any respective workplace, because from all the workplaces and people I've spoken to, we genuinely love being there instead of spending time learning, keeping fit, thinking of ideas and trying to think of ways that we can genuinely make our world a better place.

What sort of proof do I have of this... well...

Steemit skyrocketed in popularity, and let's admit it; we'd rather be posting on Steemit and earning steem than posting on something as mundane as Facebook.

Everyone here on Steemit at one point has been approached by a network marketing rep who wants to sign you up to their company. Think of Amway, Isagenix, YOR health, Nutrimetics, WorldVentures.. Yes I know you've been approached by one. I guarantee that they all told you that they're looking for 3/4/5 new people who want to earn their real worth..

We've all googled some way of 'working from home' or 'earning money online' and we've ended up on some page talking about Binary options.. where once you've registered for a demo, you'll end up with nonstop telemarketing calls from India or the Philippines, no matter how often you say you're not interested, you still get the nonstop calls.

postimage

We've all been on social media for some years now. Some of us right back in the early days of Myspace, others Facebook, others right amongst all the different sites for the first time... Your snapchat, instagram, pinterest, tumblr, everything that can give an individual gratification for writing something engaging and educational, current news, oooorrrr... posting a selfie in a bikini, uploading a photo of your lunch, or taking a 10 second video of how many drinks you've had.

Then we'll see individuals who base their worth on how many likes they earn, or how many followers they have; they'll try non-stop at earning more likes than their peers, at the cost of an education, career, personal relationships, I know everyone has seen someone at one point like this. You could try and tell them it's a downward spiral to rely on online gratification, but you know they won't listen to you.. Because you have less followers and less likes than them.

So meanwhile, there is a lot that isn't good in society. In fact, a lot that is dragging us down. We have the entire world's information available at our fingertips and the majority of us use that to compare our online life to other peoples. We can pick up the phone and call someone over skype on the other side of the world at the cost of data, learn about new cultures and make friends internationally, and most of us are we're watching cat videos.

24783129_1280x720



Where did we go wrong?

My own ventures brought me to Steemit. Starting at the small niggling inconveniences like paying $2.50 at an ATM to withdraw my own money, to find out that I didn't have sufficient funds to withdraw what I requested, and paying $2.50 anyway out of what I did have to be told I couldn't use any money. To be a day late on the credit card bill, paying a $25 late payment fee, then the following interest calculated on the extra $25 as well. Paying a monthly maintenance fee just for having an EFTPOS card... Naturally, I came to Bitcoin. To look at alternatives to the bank, Satoshi Nakamoto was on the money (pun intended). So I invested into Crypto, connected a visa debit to my wallet and all, became to use a regular Bitcoin user. Bitcoin lead to discovering altcoin, investing in Ethereum and Dogecoin, mining litecoin, narrowly missing out on the launch of ZCASH, and of course discovering Steemit.

Then so far spending time learning about how to earn an income without relying on:

  • Unpredictability of people
  • Unpredictability of customers
  • Tall puppy syndrome competitors

And I can't find a better alternative to Forex trading. Earn income without relying on influence from people you have to deal with, without having to rely on finding new customers, brown-nosing employers, the drudgery of work, running for the train to get to work on time, I've managed to invest what I could and earn 10-15% weekly with Forex trading running a server at home. Not a marketing ploy but it's what I discovered and I'm still learning other ways to earn online.

So I guess it boils down to this.. Everyone wants the same thing but everyone is doing the opposite of what they need to get there, and I don't fully understand why.

If we didn't have to work, none of us would. So where did society start moving us away from what so many of us really want, and start moving us towards a subservient race of Facebook followers to people who earn dividends to post selfies with skincare products to sell to us. there has got to be some point in our history where we had the knowledge to move away from having to work as an entire civilization... but then made the choice not to. I guess I'd want to know why.

I'm probably just rambling but I guess the fact that Steemit exists, is proof that people want to find another way.

Sort:  

It's the state. They tax and regulate us enough to make sure we only have limited leisure/thinking time. Any productivity beyond meeting our own immediate needs is redirected to a state which grows accordingly. With our technology, we should all be working 20 hours a week, max.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55938.98
ETH 2932.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21