You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts on failure

in #thoughts5 years ago

It's very hard to succeed without failing first.

From the authorized biography by Frank Dyer and T. C. Martin, Edison: His Life and Inventions, quoting Edison's Edison's friend and associate Walter S. Mallory about Edison's experiments to develop an alkaline battery:

"This [the research] had been going on more than five months, seven days a week, when I was called down to the laboratory to see him [Edison]. I found him at a bench about three feet wide and twelve feet long, on which there were hundreds of little test cells that had been made up by his corps of chemists and experimenters. I then learned that he had thus made over nine thousand experiments in trying to devise this new type of storage battery, but had not produced a single thing that promised to solve the question. In view of this immense amount of thought and labor, my sympathy got the better of my judgment, and I said: 'Isn't it a shame that with the tremendous amount of work you have done you haven't been able to get any results?' Edison turned on me like a flash, and with a smile replied: 'Results! Why, man, I have gotten lots of results! I know several thousand things that won't work!'"

Success arises from failure AND learning from failure.

Sort:  


You just planted 0.06 tree(s)!


Thanks to @rufusfirefly

We have planted already
4704.33 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 30880.66
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72