Something more personal

in #thoughts4 years ago (edited)

IMG_20200214_142523.png

Couple days ago I went to see my therapist. We we're talking quite lightly about what has happened in my life in past week. After the conversation she said something that has stick in my mind. She said that my life sound nice and you sound happy about it.

Of course I know how luckily I have been like in past year, how things I couldn't ever imaginate have happened. I think the "turning point" was that my therapist told me about self-compassion and recommended me to read one book about it. I read it, and the thoughts of the book affected me deeply. I felt that that was the thing which I have missed at least from my whole teen age. I started to see things differently step by step, giving myself mercy, comprehension and comfort when ever I needed it. I also started to take care of my body, take notes about condition my body. If it felt stressed and overloaded, I was giving it time to recover. These things probably sound quite odd and maybe obvious when writing them, but that was something which I never have really give to myself.

I have always been worried about people around me, loved my love ones with my whole heart. That was also what my therapist told me, I never have understand it self. But, giving myself something which I need started to change my way of thinking small by small. Even the small changes led me to new situations when my own mind wasn't blocking me right from the start. And it started to work like snowboll, one positive new experience led to another and so on.

Of course I know some of my thoughts are still quite skewed. I notice that still quite often, but now I have power and ability to ask my self are my thoughts close to reality. I can give myself compassion and take rest without feeling guilty. Most important, I have faith that things will get better as I keep take care of myself. I've been in therapy last three year, spoke with my therapist hundreds of hours. I'm not going to agree that those hours would have been futile going back to my old devasting way of thinking.

I'm not sure what was point of this text. I just wrote down thoughts while traveling by train. Maybe I felt this writing thing will help structure my thoughts. And since it's Valentines day, I was also thinking how grateful I'm having some really dear people around me. They have been also in key role giving me hope and believe in some moments when everything has felt useless and I'm not ever gonna reach anything. It's really immeasurable how much they mean to me. I'm quite sensitive mood right now which comes to feelings, but really, life is quite strange and I'm curious to see it in my current way of thinking.

Sort:  

Congratulations @rrusina! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

And it started to work like snowboll, one positive new experience led to another and so on.

Reminds me of my own experience on how I got over social anxiety: one positive interaction led to another, and so on. In the end I came less anxious as so that it's not crippling me anymore or being an obstacle to meet new people.
Always nice to read a thought or two from you :)

@celestal Thanks, nice to hear that :)
I'm happy you get over your social anxiety and didn't suffer it anymore. Positive experiences seems to be quite significant part of recoving from these kind of things.

What a cutie in the photo :)

I'm trying to comment your text properly too, but as I'm sleep deprived with a new born baby, my brain is not functioning correctly and the text gets scrambled in my head.

Kaikki mitä teet vie sinua eteenpäin. Kaikki työkalut itsensä kanssa pärjätäkseen ei tule suoraan käteen, mutta se kuin kasvaa selkärankaan, josta sen vain tuntee. Sitä ei aina edes tiedä, että se on siellä, mutta se vaikuttaa. Ajatuksissa, toimissa, elämässä.

I wish all good for your work forwards :)

@apsu That's totally fine. I can only imagine your situation. Wish you all best with your new baby. I'm sure you're and will be great father to your child.

Kiitos sanoistasi, paljon. Ne koskettivat ja saivat miettimään. Toivon ja uskon että jonain päivänä huomaan onnistuneeni kokomaan jotain, mikä tulee muuttamaan elämääni merkittävästi.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88