At long last, one for our record books (among other goings-on so far this northern fall)

in #thoughts5 years ago (edited)

Yes, you saw that right.

Back when this feed was on Google+, my all-time record for +1's on any one post hovered close to 100. (That milestone, showcased in the Plus' Anime community, dealt with fan art from Studio Ghibli's The Cat Returns.) Otherwise, I was really lucky to garner up to a dozen of them on my regular non-Community, non-Collection fare; the busiest it got was on my Animal Lovers relays.

Fast forward to U.S. Labor Day last month, when MN #407--first two letters are short for "Marigot Notebook"--went to press some time after Steemit cleared up its HF22 upgrade hiccup. In all honesty, I was definitely not prepared to witness that record being broken in such short time--a few hours at most--and decided to prepare a follow-up on the subject. In case search engines pick it up or the image above doesn't display: 294 Steem upvotes (do they actually call them "upvotes" here?), two comments (from @steemitboard and @partiko), and revenue of US$0.99 (from which I've received 50 cents in royalties). Proof that post-for-pay actually works; wish I had the same experience over at Tsū or 3tags back when those outlets were in service. Then again, it's more akin to a fluke on my watch. (To everyone who gave me a thumbs-up weeks ago, I can offer nothing but gracious thanks.)

But, yeah...keeping track of Adanson's post-summer activity--and the singles collection they share with Autrison--held me back for the next month and a half or so. But even they were also held back last week as well--by a couple of wedding parties at House #4270. (In the real world, a bug in MusicBrainz' metadata interface [caused by that sevice's recent server updates] sent MP3Tag--and my schedule--off-course. I was planning to process an extra songfile for the next Music Time session, but well after I investigated the "Error" glitch the tagger spat out, I had little choice but to upgrade for the second time so far this year.) If all goes well, they'll resume next Monday--en route to Independence Day in Dominica and the weekend fling that follows afterward. Little wonder my map experiments on Wilbur kept me company between then and now; more on that a little later.

Speaking of the Nature Island, Creole Day happened yesterday--but I missed out this year. (Blame what I discussed in the previous paragraph, plus a ton of what I call "info load" [with TV Tropes], resumption of spam cleanup on the main site of a slower-than-ever Referata [which hosts my RFM wiki], and whatever else managed to tide me over--including keeping abreast with the CASE Act, yet another contentious, ill-conceived slice of copyright legislation à la Article 13.) Of course, you should know how my attempts at an Unspooled #1 manuscript turned out last year...

And speaking of my former host, G+ is no longer a Takeout option. (If Help assistant John Skeats' comments are anything to go by, not since ca. late August even--and that was when the outlet originally planned to wind down.) From here on out, your best bet is the Internet Archive; enter your Plus URL and hope for the best. At least highlights from my last few weeks remain online through Bloglovin'--which is saying something. (In related news: Keep an eye out on Shoelace, test-run in the New York market since July, as the social side of Google either slowly rebounds or crawls away in obscurity. Where's Vic now?)

And speaking of closed shops: Widbook, a Wattpad competitor on which you would've seen my Dixwell tales, has disappeared without a word since after February. If you were a member there, please fill me in on the details. Once Referata speeds back up, I'll remove the reference on the Dixwell Dossier's "Coming Soon" banner.

All that said, there's a whole lot in store as November approaches, including:

  • The launch of a brand-new (personal) wiki on ByetHost, following the lead of a Referata user who helped out as best they could in the spam-cleanup efforts before I pitched back in. (Said user gave up in July, as Referata's public enemy no. 1 targeted them on the new turf.)
  • Turning the lights back on at the RFM wiki--starting with a revert of the hacking residue at its Site Settings, a rewrite of the dictionary entry code (the sooner we leave the demo stage, the better), and a round of grammar revisions. (Meanwhile, I'll ping Yaron Koren on the ongoing Referata slowdown at MediaWiki.)
  • Moving back to the NaNoWriMo forums to discuss--and develop--the first several installments of Unspooled as time permits, miniseries prospects and all. Since NaNo engages in yearly resets (last I checked), I'll archive every bit of correspondence I receive. (Our current project stems from the "winning" 2012 experiment, Marigot Magic.)
  • The inevitable redo of my gift-map project, Veritas--no thanks to a little trick involving the "Min" (for minimum height) function in Wilbur's Fractal Noise feature--along with the launch of RFM tie-in Tovasala. (While we're on the subject, stay tuned for Novissima; could a revamp of Rogatia's landscape be next in line?)
  • Any week from now, anthro commissions on the side--and I've already picked my first customer, one "AndyBanez" on Inkbunny. (Mainly NSFW gallery = no link.)
  • Any day soon, an affordable 256 GB USB for data transfer--because the 16 GB currently attached to my laptop won't cut it much longer. (Birthday gift #2, atop my priority queue; how soon I buy it depends on the superiors' and sisters' schedules.)
  • Last but not least, an inventory of what Adanson/Autrison have collected so far during the past six years of their partnership. (No thanks to the tagger, of course.)

Finally, in the weather watch: Although Dorian spared us in the T/SP area last month, we weren't out of the woods yet this hurricane season thanks to Tropical Storm Nestor. Last weekend, Nestor's storm bands produced a tornado that ripped through Kathleen, a community next door to Dover; now you know where I'm currently based. Fortunately for us, nothing of the sort came our way--just tons of early-morning rain, but at least I volunteered to prepare for the possible worst with my superior in the short time that remained. Now that October's almost "all over" (to quote an ages-old mnemonic)...

Well, take care, stay safe, and see you back with a long recap of highlights from Adanson's Music Time revues (in our next Notebook). This is your fellow Captain speaking--and signing off.

Sa ka fete, folks!

CC0 Kopimi
(2677)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56922.13
ETH 2347.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43