Blaze of glory anyone?

in #thoughts6 years ago

‘I’m going down in a blaze of glory’. One of Bon Jovi’s most famous songs. The rebel, the fighter ready to go down in a hail of bullets. Millions of people must have sung this very line at a concert or in the privacy of their own room, yet how many are willing to embrace this fate? The same goes for the many more millions of women out there dying to meet such a fearless guy. Are you sure you want to be there when he does go down?
I was just watching something and the hero dies a noble death, but when his body riddled with bullets hits the floor you cannot help wishing he’d been saved somehow, anyhow, so he can go on living a happy life. For some reason, though, going down in a blaze a glory doesn’t go well with riding off into the sunset. You need to make a choice at some point.
And it’s not just about the bullets part, you cannot be a trailblazer or an outlaw of any kind and still enjoy all the safety of walking the beaten path. Those that try to beat the system and strike it on their own, be the rebels, cannot expect the comfort of those who lead ordinary lives, with ordinary jobs. Even those that put all their hopes on the rise of the cryptos, they don’t get a nice Christmas bonus.
Funny thing is you often hear people saying ‘oh, I wish I could live like that’ or ‘that is so cool, I envy you’ for whatever reason. Words that don’t mean anything actually, because how many are indeed ready to trade comfort and certainty for freedom from the constraints of society. A soft bed is something palpable, a paycheck at the end of the month, big or small, it’s still there. Freedom is not something that you can hold in your hands, nor does it keep you warm at night. How many are ready to die in a blaze of glory after all?

Thanks for reading

rebeccanew.png

Sort:  

Hmm, I'm not sure if I'll ever go out in a blaze of glory, but it's probably the most appropriate way...What I do know is that,

I play for keeps 'cause I might not make it back. I been everywhere, still I'm standing tall. I've seen a million faces and I've rocked them all. I'm a cowboy. On a steel horse I ride. I'm wanted dead or alive...

🙂

Sadly, many men dream of such heroics thinking it would be some cool life. Those who walk it to a degree do so not out of some quest for being cool though. It is almost a curse as no good deed goes unpunished and one watches the cowards they treasured distance themselves or worse, turn on them. I say sadly, as if more men would feel the compulsion to act on what they know needs done, what a beautiful world this could be.

In the end though, most do not need to lay their head on their pillow with the contentedness of knowing they did the right thing. They content themselves with escaping another day with all the fine luxuries their brand of illusion afforded them, and damn the rest.

In the end though, most do not need to lay their head on their pillow with the contentedness of knowing they did the right thing.

Very well said..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64440.63
ETH 2653.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80