You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Wisdom of Non-Competitiveness

in #thoughts8 years ago

hey @calaber24p, yeah, I did mention that Communism wasn't the key since it stems from our own nature. And also, I do recognize the advantages of competition. I never meant to discount its merits, if that's how it came across. However, what I'm positing is a change of perspective from what's conventionally taught.

Your points are spot on, and it's exactly why competition is currently the foundation of industry. That's the thing though. In your words, it "creates an incentive to make the right choice for yourself/ your company." That's all well and good, but as I mentioned, that's where our "sense of self" (I'm not quite sure if there's a conventional term for this) comes in. That's what drives the world today, the constant one-upsmanship. But, what if it ceases to be? Would society cease to exist or progress?

It's a very idealistic proposition, I know, but isn't it worth giving a shot? There will always be push back, because of human nature, but now that we're consciously aware of the pros and cons of competition, isn't it worth it to somehow improve upon that mentality?

Thanks for commenting, man. I really appreciate your thoughts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64658.37
ETH 3421.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52