You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Late night drive

in #thoughts5 years ago

Writing in the night hasn’t ever occurred to me, though I am also an insomniac. I am afraid it would get my brain churning on things even more than it already is. My mind tries to solve problems that can’t be solved — at least not at 3:00 in the morning.

I’m sure financial concerns and ponderings are a very common reason for people to be up in the night. It’s such a big influence in our lives, and it has so much power over so many things — our ability to make decisions about what to spend, how to save, where to live, where to vacation, how much to go out, and how many of life’s mundane tasks we must do ourselves and how many we can hire out. Finances affect everything. Including ego. I find myself daydreaming about having made a different choice at several forks in the road in my life, because things would be much more comfortable for my family had I done so. And I could do more for the causes I care about.

So I am watching Steem with interest. I don’t want to take the wrong fork in the road again and look back on this time and day: why didn’t I HODL?? And why didn’t I buy when the price was in the toilet?

I hope you got back to sleep. My tricks are to take magnesium and calcium pills. Works really well.

Sort:  

I find myself daydreaming about having made a different choice at several forks in the road in my life

Hopefully each one has informed for the next. I don't think hindsight is perfect either, as it excludes a lot of information that doesn't fit the narrative of our current view.

So I am watching Steem with interest. I don’t want to take the wrong fork in the road again and look back on this time and day: why didn’t I HODL?? And why didn’t I buy when the price was in the toilet?

With the potential, the amounts involved at this point aren't life changing, but could be. I have accepted that there is very little chance of large economic without risk exposure. With lower level investments, time is another factor that needs to be considered. In January I will have been here for three years, that is nothing in the grand scheme of life.

My tricks are to take magnesium and calcium pills. Works really well.

Never tried. I took a couple drops of CBD oil which I have been experimenting with - but the writing helped :)

Yes, each fork in the road we take informs the next, and life gets better in ways it couldn't have if we took the other path, so regrets are useless.

On the note of investing in Steem, I do think the amount of life investment made in the potential here will have been worth it even if it never moons. The people, communities and conversations make it all worthwhile, right now. That said, I think we'll be happy with the financial reward in the long run too. :-)

On the note of investing in Steem, I do think the amount of life investment made in the potential here will have been worth it even if it never moons.

What I find strange is how people do the same thing on other platforms for free, and then complain about the conditions here. I think that the conversations here are more compelling to engage with than those on the other platforms as they have real world repercussions and could affect the way many things are managed in the future.

True. Money messes with people's minds. It's why retailers have gotten in trouble for marking up prices on things only to mark them at a "discount". Value is so much about perception. If you tell people they can make money posting on Steem, their expectations are set. They are going to keep checking their wallet and listening for that clink-clink-clink-clink slot machine sound.

But if we tell people to invest their time regularly here to build a nest egg that can one day, potentially, pay them a living wage or support them in retirement, then we can hopefully set the expectation that this is a long-term investment. Of course, that message requires patience and the ability to look toward the future, and a lot of people are not made that way.

It's why retailers have gotten in trouble for marking up prices on things only to mark them at a "discount"

In Australia this is illegal and is met with fines. Not sure about everywhere though.

If you tell people they can make money posting on Steem, their expectations are set.

This is what people need to remember when it comes to user retention, most came in at the highs holding even higher expectations. A long bear market shook them off.

Of course, that message requires patience and the ability to look toward the future, and a lot of people are not made that way.

One of my arguments with young people today is their unwillingness to look long and while youth is part of the issue, people forget that it wasn't so long ago that youths worked from a much younger age and grew up a lot faster. These days it is people in their thirties still considering themselves young. Economically, they are in for a rough time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62561.21
ETH 2449.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64