Obsessively.

in #thoughts5 years ago

Do you ever find you're coming back to the same idea over and over and over?

I do. And it's something that fascinates me, because you normally don't realize you're doing it. The idea seems as new to you as it did the first time you thought about it, or in this particular case, wrote it. But it's not. Or is it?

I don't know, I seem to be of two minds on this subject. Because when it comes to conversation and day-to-day, I think it's not new and furthermore, that it's bad for you to think the same thing over and over, to never absorb any new information and just regurgitate the same thing time and again. There are many people like that and in that particular case, privately I suppose I mean, it's bad. It's a sign you've stopped growing mentally. And that's not what you want. Probably.


56985394_425879794843810_4579963437223772160_n.jpg

But then, there's coming back to something as an artist, be it a writer, painter, sculptor. You know those stories, about painters who paint the same woman in every portrait - it's the same person, just with different faces. and then, for some reason, this repetition ceases to be wrong, in my opinion. It becomes fascinating.
Stephen King's novels famously intersect and have common elements. Throughout a career of what? Four, five decades? Anyway, through all that, he's kept coming to the Dark Tower series and world. If you look closely there's a reference to that world and to that story in most of his books. And he himself stated that the idea had fascinated him for many years before he actually wrote the books.

To me, that's amazing. It's compelling, that you can keep coming back to something, that the same idea draws you in so many times. Why does it happen? Why do we come back to the same idea?

Because you might say that oh well, it's just something that's on your mind at the time. Like love. I'm in love, so I write about love - pretty natural, makes sense. I lost a pet - I write about grief and animals. But what about when someone comes back to the same idea or character over two decades? Or five? They can't be feeling the same thing for 20 years. OR thinking the same thing.

So, what's the explanation to that? Why would a painter paint the same person obsessively? Why would a writer write different variants of the same character? Where does this obsession come from? From someone you've met? Possibly, though I would say unlikely. Rare. From someone you'd like to meet? From somewhere you'd like to exist?

Okay, but why there? Why them specifically? And where did they come from, how did they get into your mind?

What if you're not exploring a place or person, but a theme? You obsessively come back to the man who lost his wife. But you're not a man. And you've never had a wife. Where does that fascination come from? And why does it come?

I find psychology fascinating and I do think that by listening to someone or, in the case of Steemit, reading what they write can be an extremely insightful journey into their minds. People betray a lot of themselves by what they say. Writers betray themselves through what they write.

And yet, sometimes I don't understand. I look at my own words and I just don't understand. Where some things come from and why and who put them in my mind...And I might be mystified, worried, frightened. But it wouldn't matter in the end.

I'd come back to them tomorrow, anyway.

Just some thoughts. Thanks for reading.

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

I think it is nearly impossible to understand why someone else is drawn to a particular theme or object, because it is so abstract.

For instance, I have a recurring dream about alligators. To me it is obvious the alligator represents anxiety that I have struggled with throughout my life, but of course I know my inner-workings. I find the same thing happens with things in my waking life. Certain ideals I value appear in symbols.

And I totally agree you see the truth when reading between the lines in someone's writing. Although we certainly can be crafty and put on personas at times.

I think it is nearly impossible to understand why someone else is drawn to a particular theme or object, because it is so abstract.

I think so, too. I mean, I'm having trouble understanding myself sometimes, let alone others, and you're right. What one idea or symbol means to me might mean something completely different to you and so on. I can't assume why someone's drawn to something based on my perception of the thing.

Although we certainly can be crafty and put on personas at times.

Sometimes, true. There are a lot of users here trying to sound different, to sound like someone else and often, it's obvious, if you keep a critical view, which I try to do. And the fact they would want to sound like someone they're not is very telling.

Understanding ourselves must be the ultimate meaning of life. It seems like it takes a long time to figure us out :)

Agreed, most people are not so good at doing personas. A handful can though. I wonder how often people are thought to be putting on a front, when they are just showing alternate sides. My posts can be pretty scattered as far as my style. I like it that way. Split personalities keep life interesting ;)

F Scott Fitzgerald talked about this same subject. He said how we all write and rewrite the same stories repeatedly only with small variations.

Yeah? I had no idea. But I like that idea a lot. Thanks ;) I'll look up that bit, because it's a really fascinating thought.

An interesting thought.

You mentioned writers betraying themselves with what they write and I agree with this. I wrote over 440,000 words in a story as you know and a huge part of why I don't like people reading it is because it provides a fairly clear insight into me. It makes me feel awkward.

As for coming back to the same idea or possibly ideal over and over I think comfort and familiarity may come into play...But what do I know, there could be any number of reasons that escape my non-intellectual mind.

Hope you had a great weekend.

Posted using Partiko Android

So what if they do see into you? I mean, the people who are close enough to you to potentially hurt you with that info probably know already and I doubt they would try to hurt you. As for the rest, I guess it depends on the person, you know? I like to observe people, so maybe I'd see those things. But many might not. And chances are the people who are interested in observing are picking and guessing at who you are anyway through your blog :) Just a thought.

It makes me feel awkward.

Why? You're you. And if it came out of that deep, creative part of your mind, I think there is something there. That that sentiment or character or whatever is powerful enough within you, so a big part of you.

or possibly ideal over

I like this idea a lot. I think it might very well be. Which is, in a way, even more powerful information. It's good to know who someone is, but who they strive to be/find is even more telling, I think.

e my non-intellectual mind.

Will you stop it with that kinda talk? :P

You're right of course, on all counts. Possibly one day I'll let people see it. I could always release it under an alias I guess. Maybe I need another Steemit it account. Release 1000 word posts 440 times...

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @honeydue! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62847.35
ETH 2464.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64