You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Discipline to achieve freedom

in #thoughts5 years ago

I just changed my job and do pretty long hours as well (11h), but I only work 14 days per month, got myself a photo laboratory job, mostly pleased with this.
Of course I buy some Eurojackpot tickets every now and then. Hoping for that 80mil prize XD. Yeah, hope does not die.

Sort:  

Nice, sounds like a job well fit for you!

I have a bit of a similar thing going on with my working schedule, because I work 4 days in a week - I actually like it a lot.

Oh, by the way, you wrote about you only buy things you need. Would you ever buy a car?

I have a car. I could live without it but a car is a freedom to do whatever I want whenever I want.
Probably most of my photo travels wouldnt have happened if it wasn't a car.

Oh, by the way, you wrote about you only buy things you need. Would you ever buy a car?

If I ever became so rich (aka. Steem millionare) that the expenses of owning a car would not make a difference on my financial well being, maybe. But right now just getting a license (I don't have one) would cost at least 1000€, even if someone like my dad would teach with a license, the bear minimum would be 600ish euros for what I could find with quick googles searches. This coupled with my disinterest with cars (well, Tesla is a cool thing, but that's as far as my interest with cars go) and living in Helsinki metropolitan area with excellent public transportation, getting a car is very down of the list of my priorities. I have the same mentality as you do, but for me the symbol of freedom is my bicycle. It has its trade offs with traveling time and seasonal availability (highways are no go during winter), but on the other hand it is much cheaper to maintain.

Probably most of my photo travels wouldnt have happened if it wasn't a car.

That's why I let my friends drive the car, meanwhile I'm the one taking the photos. Fair trade :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70956.31
ETH 3809.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50