15/12/2017: The problem with parents.

in #thoughts6 years ago

So here's why growing up doesn't such that much, because once you move out and start being an all around independent gangsta, they stop getting on your case for like 99.9% of your time. Sadly, this is not my case.

You know those topics you try to prolong as much from your parents as long as you can, because you just know what's coming is not precisely exciting. Like this one time I failed 2 courses in my second semester and well you just wait until it's time for your parents to be parents and ask the dreaded "can I see your grades?".

So Christmas and New Years is right around the corner and for 10 years we have been driving to the other side of the country to visit my mother's side of the family, which is a nice place I guess but, sometimes I do get a little bored. My family is a nice family and I know I'll probably piss some people off with this comment but it's the truth, they are really boring and I've never really had a "fun" relationship with my cousins, it's actually kind of awkward and boring. I like my uncles they're cool dudes but they're not around all the time.

I bought a plane ticket for the 27th to where my girlfriend will be spending New Year's with her family, because her sister who just bought a house invited me to spend New Year's with her husbands family, which my girlfriend tells me is a pretty awesome and welcoming family. I haven't told my parents I bought it, because I just know what will happen when I do.

"I can't believe you are even considering asking us permission to do that", "How would you feel if your family wouldn't want to spend time with you?", this and that which I've heard millions of times, sometimes I think my parents exaggerate stuff I do when at this age all I really want to fucking do is spend New Years Eve with my girlfriend for the first time. I don't think the world is going to end if I miss 1 year considering I've been doing it for 10 years, I think it's time for a change, I want to have new experiences.

-the mexican kid

Sort:  

Congratulations @goodfooties! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @goodfooties! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88