You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To play or get paid

in #thoughts5 years ago

Likewise, Steem poor doesn't mean IRL poor. It's a mixed bag across the board. Rich + Rich, Rich + Poor, Poor + Rich, Poor + Poor (and however many other various permutations beyond).

I personally enjoy that about Steem. I've always enjoyed exposure to people of varying backgrounds and ages and cultures. I am a natural introvert, but love observing people's behaviors and enjoy helping others.

Steem(it) being a social network is effectively a social experiment. Observing behaviors on here give unique insights into human behavior. As you said, your personality is not much different IRL vs online. Others you encounter will have a varying situation (IRL different from online/different from Steem). I'd like to think that I'm the same IRL as I am online, but I find that the perceived anonymity does sometimes (rarely) change my demeanor and cause me to react differently than I would in person. It's all fascinating to me 🙂

Sort:  

Likewise, Steem poor doesn't mean IRL poor. It's a mixed bag across the board.

It is pretty cool as some people get to experiment with various aspects of life that they might not have access to normally. Including the introverts being a little more extroverted when they choose.

is effectively a social experiment.

Some people see this as a negative as if all social communities aren't experiments. I like how much of it is observable relatively transparently.

but I find that the perceived anonymity does sometimes (rarely) change my demeanor and cause me to react differently than I would in person.

This is really interesting. Do you think that when you do "change", it is generally more positive or negative?

This is really interesting. Do you think that when you do "change", it is generally more positive or negative?

A little bit of both, but probably leans toward the negative and I wind up regretting the negativity almost immediately after the message is sent into the ether.

I get this too sometimes. The blockchain doesn't care if you are having a bad day though, it records it all. Maybe it is a good practice for self-control.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45