You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The good-bad day

in #thoughts4 years ago

Up until I was 24 basically everyone I cared about in the world lived within 5 hours of my home in Seattle. But then I started traveling and making friends from far away places and eventually married an Australian guy. So, goodbyes like yours have become too common. I guess the good things are... the physical distance between you shows you have had some adventures in your life, now “your home” (new faraway places still feel like home when you are with loved ones) can be found further afield, and as much as those goodbyes suck the hellos are absolutely joyous.

So glad you had quality bro and family time. All that distance makes you recognize the importance of the time together and that is a great thing.

Sort:  

This is true and nicely written too. It's obvious you've experienced for yourself. Where did you guys settle?

We lived in Canberra from 2002 - 2007, then moved to Seattle (where I am from) and have been here since. My poor husband got the short end of the stick when it comes to being near family. Skype helps. When I was in Aus there was no Skype or Facebook or instagram. Just a lot of long distance phone calls. For all the detractors of social media, it helps a ton for keeping in touch with loved ones who are way too far away.

Ah ok, I like Canberra. Seattle, well I've never been there. Want to though. I'm sure your husband doesn't mind being there though, with all you people with strange accents! 🤣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66442.48
ETH 3553.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10