You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Transparency: The downfall of centralized economies

in #thoughts6 years ago

Some really good thoughts here... pondering several things, as I read this.

In many ways, I think the longevity of fiat can be attributed to the perception (not reality, perception) that "we don't have choice." A lot of people don't trust banks, or the banking system... "... but we don't really have another option, DO we?"

A few are perhaps a little more "adventurous" and decide to hedge with gold and silver coins.

Like your dad, I collected/collect old stamps... and even though it's a "collectible in decline," there have been many times when those small pieces of paper have been the best investment I have had. And what's true of them is part of what you are driving at here: They were made in the 1800's and there are only so many. And as long as there is a collector base that agrees on the concepts of "scarcity" and "desirability," they are excellent stores of value.

But meanwhile... I'm not going to say that I "don't have a choice," but FACT remains that I need to pay $5,500 in property taxes, and to do so... I have to use the fiat banking system, currently including the conversion of some of my Steem to fiat, and selling some of my old stamps.

I'm not entirely sure where "greed" and basic human nature plays into this... seems that no matter what sort of idealism may create a system for people to use, there are always going to be those trying to find exploits to gain for themselves outside the generally accepted channels... and hence "transparency" may actually be the single MOST important attribute, going forward. And frankly... part of what I like about it is that it leaves people as free to cheat as they want but with the caveat that their nefarious activities will be visible to everyone.

Sort:  

Some really good thoughts here... pondering several things, as I read this.

I can never attest to the accuracy of my thoughts but, perhaps that is not the point of thinking.

In many ways, I think the longevity of fiat can be attributed to the perception (not reality, perception) that "we don't have choice." A lot of people don't trust banks, or the banking system... "... but we don't really have another option, DO we?"

There is always a choice but the risks are so immense if only a few take the leap. It is going to get interesting because the groundswell has started already, it just is imperceptible to most.

seems that no matter what sort of idealism may create a system for people to use, there are always going to be those trying to find exploits to gain for themselves outside the generally accepted channels

Perhaps this is the driver of innovation and growth as a species, a game of cat and mouse that never ends.

part of what I like about it is that it leaves people as free to cheat as they want but with the caveat that their nefarious activities will be visible to everyone.

It creates a new social fabric that will be loose at first but tighten to create a smooth weave. Given the chance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66445.86
ETH 2588.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68