You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Value earned and value held

in #thoughts5 years ago

Re evaluating life's priorities is a healthy habit towards a progressive and meaningful life.
I think it is easy to fall into the thought that abstract things can be monetized and assigned some commercial value. Mainly due to a profound reinforcement for a globalized credit monetary system. It is simple to assign a price level to a product or service that has a demand and the offer defines what others are willing to change. Only a person that receives a hug, kiss or sentiment can appreciate what is being received/shared. There is no way to ask for a public opinion/offer on something so personal as an abstract sentiment.
What is valuable in life is I think living according to our values and principles. I value some things that do not provide me monetary gains at all, but I value them because they are part of my values system.

I can imagine that if we only had one year to live, we would sharing a lot more. As opposed to exchanging more.

Sort:  

What is valuable in life is I think living according to our values and principles. I value some things that do not provide me monetary gains at all, but I value them because they are part of my values system.

I think that principles need to be flexible also and investigated thoroughly as they are often carried over from generational/ societal programming. Too many follow principles blindly and then wonder why the problems of the past keep repeating. Examination is required, otherwise they are not principles, they are habits.

I can imagine that if we only had one year to live, we would sharing a lot more. As opposed to exchanging more.

An interesting observation :)

Yes, I totally agree. I avoid those "religious" principles that are many times just habits (doctrine). When I think of Principles, I think of "lessons of truth in life." For example, an important Principle of health for me is eating Organic produces grown in soil.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62065.67
ETH 2429.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68