Thought 006: Is YouTube trying to become the next Netflix ?!

in #thought6 years ago

Thoughts6.png

First, they started putting on ads. Then they used a lot of ads. Now every video has standard ads. Also the amount of ads that aren't skippable are increasing. So it's obvious they are loosing money, even thought it is their own fault. They tried YouTube Red, pay to view. Now they are making ads to pay to view YouTube videos.

In short, I know where this is going, they are moving slowly to pay to view, they want the money. Instead of being more honest in their way of doing business, they think they have the high ground because it is a government site that is well known and they can't go broke. With a government site I mean, they are from Google and Google is in bed with the government, we all know that, or at least suppose to know that.

I hope they go broke, don't get me wrong, but at the same time, there isn't anything better. Yes, Dtube, I had high hopes for, but it isn't practical from a creator of viewers standpoint. Viewing doesn't work sometimes, I can live with that, but uploading is a complete mess and after trying in different ways, even ways that used to work, I can't get anything to upload. I will be trying again when I have time.

But back to YouTube, what are they planning ?! I surely don't trust them, because they are the equivalent of a starving dog that does anything for food. They are the hungry dog, and the food is their money.


Thank you for reading. It would be nice if you could leave a thought behind.

Sort:  

They've completely ditched youtubers who don't have a bazilion subscribers. I think it's because of that "companies don't want to be associated with hate speech videos".

But instead of getting hate video makers off YouTube, they've decided to stop caring about almost everyone. Not only does that affect everyone else, it also does nothing to stop hate videos.

I've got a lot of trouble with DTube as well, to the point of giving up on it more recently. Vimm offers no option to host content, either. I don't know what we're going to do if a better option doesn't come up soon. Somebody has to be willing to do it!

Exactly my thoughts, and what they call "hate" is dependent on how they feel in the day and the rotation of the moon. Dtube as a concept, great idea, but not in practicality.

But the worst thing about it, that Dlive was actually great and it worked, but when I started using it, just uploaded 1 test video, they went away.

Yeah, that's the most disappointing event ever. Dlive was good, but they scammed both steemit as a whole and steemit inc...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64