Weekend Campout

in #thl7 years ago

Pics.jpg
Friday afternoon I went to a friends house for the weekend. He lives next to the Edisto River Preserve. Below is an overview of what we did.
Friday: Setup.
I hung my Kammock Roo double nest hammock, mosquito net and rain-fly. The trees were a little too far apart so my rain-fly
was too low.
We watched Mad Max: Fury Road.
Saturday: We floated down the river in inner tubes. It took us between 4-5 hours to float from the landing upriver to our
landing. The person in front was in a kayak and he guided us around snags in the river. I was caught on one for a little until I
got untangled from the branch. I had a fun time except burning my knees.
We fired shotguns and pistols on his range. I'm getting better but I need more practice.
We watched Tucker and Dale vs Evil. It was an interesting show. A B-rated horror show with funny parts.
Sunday: Take-down.
We left early because our host had business to take care of.
It was a relaxing weekend, although it was still hot and muggy. I tested two different stoves while cooking my food. The pics
are below.

esbit_stove-220.jpg
Pics (2).jpg
)
Pics 2 (2).jpg
Pics 2.jpg
Pics 8 (2).jpg
Pics 7 (2).jpg

This weekend I'm testing out the Esbit and Lixada folding stoves. First, I tested the Esbit with fuel cubes and the Alpine stowaway pot. The first cube did not last as long as was listed on the box, it only lasted 4 minutes instead of the 8 minutes and did not bring the water to a boil in that time.

Next, I tested the Lixada stove with the same pot and some small branches. This stove is much sturdier, is easy to set up and has a small footprint.

Overall, I liked the Lixada Folding Stove the best. They both can use multiple fuel types and various pot.

Here are pics of the Edisto river tubing run.
600_463050550.jpeg!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28