You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Birds and the... Pumpkins - Teaching my 9 year old about pollination.

in #thl7 years ago

Love this post. Teaching kids where real good comes from is so important. Makes me sad that there are kids out there who think food just comes from the supermarket. Keep up the great posts :-)

Sort:  

Agreed @dannybarnes! So many kids and even some young adults are totally clueless about where their food actually comes from. Apparently the magic food fairy produces it in the back of the WalMart and/or supermarket. I don't know. I grew up on a dairy farm as a kid - so gardening and raising my own food is second nature to me. I have always tried to have some type of patio garden or container garden no matter where they Army has sent us these past 10 years so I can continue to grow food for my family - even if on a small scale. I also love taking my kids back to the family farm in Vermont to see where their milk comes from and just recently they watched a steer being butchers. I thought for sure they would go vegetarian after that.... but did no phase the in the least as we talked through the process. I think me watching them going through that learning process was amazing honestly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59305.10
ETH 2602.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44