You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Seen From My Window - Day 135 - Daily Haiku - An Ode to a Red-Tailed Hawk

Oh no, I fell behind in upvoting. (Gotta figure out the auto-thing.)
On a dog walk, years ago, in DNR hunting land, I spotted a hawk on a tree stump, panting. Called for help; someone got him to a raptor rehabilitator; but his keel was full of buckshot, and this 6- or 7-yr old red tailed hawk didn't make it. Another year, we came across a big owl in a conabear trap. Called the nearest DNR agent, a big guy named Cliff, who pried the owl free, only to have those talons clamp down on my wrist - and oh man, that big guy had a time getting Owl to let go. Pucture wounds ran deep, but it was worth it, being in the grip of that majestic but wounded bird.

Sort:  

Interesting. I would consider it more than worth it, as well, but how many would?

Years ago, my mom and sister came across an oil-covered tern, at an L.A. area beach, and called for help. They were told to take the bird to a certain location, and a volunteer would meet them, so they did,

Little did they know, the volunteer in question was Gary Burghoff, aka "Radar," of MASH fame, who they said was polite, all business, and all about the bird's health and survival.
(Not sure why M
ASH is not showing up correctly here).

My estimation of him as a person rose immensely with that incident, as did theirs. People who are all about the animals, without any hope of recompense, rank high with me, and always have. ;-)

Radar!! My favorite M.A.S.H. character!!!!
You have so many, many, many awesome stories like this one :;)
And I'm with you on people who take care of our furry and feathered companions, fellow inhabitants of this world.

Yeah, I always adored Radar, and was seriously sorry that I opted not to go to the beach with them that day. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70999.72
ETH 3678.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81