You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Schools Are Meant To - Day 140 - Daily Haiku

I've got to see that Peter Weir film!!
This speaks to me - whether it's ancestral memory or genetic memory somehow stick to our DNA, I know that feeling, and I believe there's something to it: "I was always drawn to the Cherokee tribe as a child, which no one else in the family was, or could explain"--then you landed "smack in the middle of what had been traditional Cherokee territory, in the centuries before the European colonization and exploitation of the New World." I'm sure I've mentioned to you the book "Blood Moon: An American Epic of War and Splendor in the Cherokee Nation" by John Sedgwick - but $15 for an ebook? I'd get paperback. (But I love Kindle highlighting and sharing.) https://www.amazon.com/Blood-Moon-American-Splendor-Cherokee-ebook/dp/B074ZQ5W47/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1528930314&sr=8-1&keywords=blood+moon+cherokee

Sort:  

Yes, I'll have to get "Blood Moon." I loved your review of it, a while back.

But as much as I love ebooks, and have a ton of them on my phone, and even more on my laptop, I still prefer the heft and smell of a real book. Call me old school. ;-)

Then again, I can take an entire library with me on my phone, which would weigh a ton with actual books, not to mention the space required. Ebooks are definitely here to stay, and that's not even mentioning the vast amount of music I carry with me, or the three complete films.

And yes. One of the three is "The Last Wave." ;-)

And yes, you have to see it; it is a film that forever changed my view of what reality is . . . and isn't. I love the atmosphere they created in the film, and the score is absolutely perfect.

And, even having seen Chamberlain on stage several times, I consider this film to be his finest performance, which is saying a lot, given his long career filled with numerous exceptional performances.

And Weir has directed SO many of my favorite films: Gallipoli, The Year of Living Dangerously, Witness, Dead Poet's Society, Master and Commander; his films are typically, quiet, nuanced, and build an inexorable sense of tension . . . he is as masterful in his own way as was Hitchcock, and as original. A highly intelligent and creative man.

And as far as genetic memory is concerned, I go back to that Dire Straits song;
"Two men think they're Jesus,
"One of 'em must be wrong."

Why does one of them have to be wrong?

If you consider Rupert Sheldrake's morphic field theory, the morphic field of Jesus is absolutely massive, so who's to say that only one person at a time can tap into that?

Not I, said the little red hen. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52