Become your own reference !

in #thinking6 years ago

Hi fellow comrads,

Today, I will try to introduce you to what I refer as free thinking.
It will be a short article, but it's introducing a much larger series about all the lies we're fed everyday since our childhood.
People nowadays have been so formatted, every time you tell them something they're immediately asking : "Who's your source ?", "What's your reference ?".
And "It's my opinion", "It's what I think", "I don't need no source, b*tch" are not valid answers to most.
They need the stamp of a recognized organization and, it saddens me, they are not anymore capable of thinking by themselves.

It took me some time to realize that lies are the fabric of our society, of our history, of our science and of everything we consider as the building blocks of our civilization.
But once I accepted that I should be the only judge of what is true and what's not, it liberated me.
No need to look for a "trusted" source once I made my opinion, it's my own and I'm claiming it as my truth, whether it's treated as such or not by official institutions.
I came to this conclusion, and the least I could do is to believe myself.

I want to encourage, here and now, everybody to free themselves too.
When being spoon-fed news, science, archaeological discoveries, history, stay open to what people have to say, to what your own mind (or heart) has to say, even if none of them can provide you with sources or references.
I can understand that as human-bots we're all programmed to be in need of a referent and of proofs to reassure us. That is a primary instinct. But only when we get over it can we think clearly and without any bias.

To illustrate my thought, try this argumentation when someone asks you for "proof", for "sources" or such thought shackles :

  • What sources ?
  • What references are you entitled to expect ?
  • Is the fact that this or that authority said the same thing a bit earlier a guarantee of authenticity ?
  • Do we always need to rely on a recognized higher authority to guide us to the truth ?
  • And these authorities, by which higher instances have they been recognized ?
  • And those instances, by which institutions have they been accepted ?
  • And which even higher organization acknowledged those instances that accepted those authorities ?

You have now successfully bugged the mind of your interlocutor. And I hope I bugged yours.

See you soon.
Signing out!



To show your support : please upvote, follow, resteem or comment !

Or all of the above

Sort:  

In my opinion, first of all, the real reason people questioned your thoughts it's because they haven't read, seen, heard or experienced life extensively enough to pinpoint the exact source. Secondly, they are surprised by your ability to form independent thoughts at all. Thirdly, they are not open-minded enough to even consider your independent thoughts as a form of liberation. This is how organizations control people. By making them study endlessly, a phenomenon known as paper chasing, just to qualify for a certain profession thus unable to formulate independent thoughts. I was like this. Stuck in the system for years only to realize my ignorance.

I can't help but to quote you a beautiful passage because I'm not creative enough to express myself in a much better way than this,
“Because the world is so corrupted, misspoken, unstable, exaggerated and unfair, one should trust only what one can experience with one's own senses, and THIS makes the senses stronger in Italy than anywhere in Europe. This is why, Barzini says, Italians will tolerate hideously incompetent generals, presidents, tyrants, professors, bureaucrats, journalists and captain of industry, but will never tolerate incompetent opera singers, conductors, ballerinas, courtesans, actors, film directors, cooks, tailors... In a world of disorder and disaster and fraud, sometimes only beauty can be trusted. Only artistic excellence is incorruptible. Pleasure cannot be bargained down. And sometimes the meal is the only currency that is real.”
by Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love

Nice quote ! I didn't know it, thanks for the discovery. It perfectly sums up what I tried to say, but I'm no writer. For the first part of your comment, I remember a quote (I couldn't find the source on Google) : "Le premier pas vers l'intelligence est de reconnaître son ignorance." - The first step towards intelligence is to recognize your own ignorance.
I agree with you, studies are there to restrain you from having your own thoughts when it should be the contrary. But it has the advantage, for some people, to sharpen curiosity and learn things about a lot of different subjects. Not making studies isn't synonym of independent thoughts either. Television is there for the people who weren't made for the slave factory (school - studies).
The system has it all figured out, and even in the search of truth, they always put a few seeds to peck for wannabe independent thinkers (let's call them conspiracy theorists) for even controlling the people who think they're evading the Thought Police.

You're most welcome! This particular book, "Eat Pray Love" is for women daydreaming about travelling like me. Therefore, most guys won't notice it. Guys are generally into sci-fi, thriller or extreme adventure genre.

Thank you for the quote in French!

I couldn't agree more with you. The conversation about not conforming is not the same as the conversation about not condoning. Both are separate issues that needs to be tackle differently.

I'm more of a history essays kind of a guy. Allows me to travel in space and time. Pure fiction doesn't attract me (scientific background clinging to me), that's why I found my happiness in reading history, as it's fiction presented as facts. Anyway, I looked at that book, and it's not really for me, but that doesn't take away the fact that her quote was really clever.

Thanks for your support @cryptodelos.
It means a lot !

Cheers! @algo.coder!

Keep on Steeming!

-@cryptodelos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60308.44
ETH 2640.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54