What is the most overrated thing?

in #thing6 years ago

View the original post on Musing.io

4.]

There are a lot of them I can think of these days. They are mostly inventions by men. They came out, were hyped and people got crazy. Some of them aren't things though. They are concepts that people hold but in reality have little significance

1.] Being a doctor or an engineer. When I was growing up, it was all I heard. Being an engineer or a doctor means you are made for life. You'll get employed almost immediately you leave school. Maybe it was true in the past but it doesn't work anymore. I've seen a number of first class engineering graduates roaming the streets and hustling for what they can feed on. Nothing is guaranteed anymore, not even being a doctor. Many of them offer their services for peanut, salaries that in no way justifies the effort they put into getting their license.

2.] Sex. This one still beats me. I've not engaged in the act but I've come to wonder why so many people attach so much importance to it. I've seen guys do the craziest things just to get laid. Is sex that important? Where is grew up, it wasn't uncommon to find guys doing hard jobs just so they could have enough money to get some lady to satisfy their cravings. It's not wise to me and I think it's badly overrated.

3.] Football stars. Many would not agree with me on this one but I'm actually not sure why people look unto footballers with such awe that some even consider them gods.

Football, quite alright, is a game of passion. It's a game that brings many people together but when you consider the extreme that people tend to go sometimes, you begin to wonder whether all of these are necessary. I remember the news of a young dude that killed himself because Ronaldo didn't win the Balon D'Or. I think that's foolishness. I love football but wouldn't go to the extent of skipping meals.

Sort:  

Congratulations @sambobo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44