You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finding Your Way in the Land of Babel: Writing in a Second Language

in #thewritersblock7 years ago (edited)

Somebody give this woman a 500% upvote please!!!

This is exactly what it all boils down to in writing in a different language. I grew up in an English speaking country, currently I am living in an English speaking country, I am a certified ESL teacher even. But still, writing a decent story in English will never be as flowing as it will be in Dutch in the end. (I already see a lot of commas in that last sentence, darn @bex-dk was right again)

For me, the problem is not the grammar, its the lack of vocabulary in the fine nuances. Especially if you are writing stories and articles, these nuances are to me the cherry on top on if a story is pleasant to read or not.

Last Sinterklaas I was trying initially to write an English poem about Steemit, according to the Dutch tradition. It didnt work AT ALL.... I shifted over to Dutch, and the lines came flowing out in seconds.

In the end English will never be my native language, and that is okay.

A nice definition issue in English Dutch and Belgian differences to leave you guys with below

English: poo,--> taking a crap
Dutch: poepen (pronounce poopen) --> taking a crap
Belgian: poepen (pronounce poopen) --> having sex

Owyeah, Im resteeming the crap out of this ;)))

Sort:  

Aaaah yes. That is my favourite misunderstanding right there!!! Thank you so much for your kind comments, Karin. Hugs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61137.27
ETH 2383.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52